Research Guides: NUR535 Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Week 3

Books in the Library

How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 5e

Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice, 10e

Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice

How to Read Research

How to Read a Scientific Paper for Nurses - Types of Scientific Papers by European Specialist Nurses Organisation
Publication Date: April 2023
Provides simple and clear guidelines for reading a scientific paper and is based on international ground rules. It aims to help nurses to gain and deepen their knowledge of aspects of research in a simple and practical way. It includes examples of how a scientific paper is structured, how it must be interpreted and what needs to be classified. This will allow nurses to evaluate the potential impact on your practice and find useful recommendations to support evidence-based medicine.

Framework for How to Read and Critique a Research Study
Prepared by Louise Kaplan, Phd, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP, Senior Fellow, Department of Nursing Practice and Policy

How to Read a Paper
Links to articles that explain how to read and interpret different kinds of research papers.

Getting your bearings (deciding what the paper is about)
Assessing the methodological quality of published papers
Papers that go beyond numbers (qualitative research)
Papers that summarize other papers (systematic reviews and meta analyses)
Papers that tell you what things cost (economic analyses)
Papers that report diagnostic or screening tests
Papers that report drug trials
Statistics for the non-statistician
Statistics for the non-statistician II: "Significant" relations and their pitfalls

How to Read and Understand a Scientific Paper: A Guide for Non-Scientists
New York City College of Technology
How to Read Scholarly Articles: Strategies for Reading
Harold Washington College Library

Literature Reviews

Literature Review
What it is, what it isn't, books in the library collection, articles, websites, and examples.

Find Research Articles

Use the following databases to find research articles to support your project.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Critiquing Literature

Critiquing Literature
Articles and other resources on how to critique research.

Theory's Place in Guiding Research

Nursing Theorists & Their Theories
Books and videos in the library collection, websites, and databases to use to search for articles.