Research Guides: NUR535 Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Week 4

Books on Planning a Research Study

Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies, 5e

Continue Finding Supportive Literature

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Things to Consider When Thinking About a Study

Place of Ethics in Research

Medical Ethics & Professionalism
Research guide containing links to databases, books in the library, professional journals, and professional organization websites.

Ethical Competence in Nursing Practice: Competencies, Skills, Decision-Making by Catherine Robichaux
Call Number: RT85 .E775 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Discusses common ethical issues likely to be encountered, how to recognize and address moral distress, and ethical practice as it relates to research, quality, and safety.
Nursing Ethics, 1880s to the Present: An Archaeology of Lost Wisdom and Identity by Marsha Fowler
Call Number: RT85 .F69 2024
Publication Date: 2024
Addresses the early and enduring ethical concerns, values, and ideals of nursing as a profession that engages in direct clinical practice and in developing policy.
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, 4e by Ann Aschengrau; George R. Seage
Publication Date: 2020
Combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Includes chapter on ethics in research involving human participants.
Regulating Human Research: IRBs from Peer Review to Compliance Bureaucracy by Sarah Babb
Publication Date: 2020
Traces the historic transformation of institutional review boards (IRBs) from academic committees to compliance bureaucracies.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: RC265.6 .L24 S55 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The story of Henrietta Lacks, a poor, Southern tobacco famer, whose cells, the first “immortal” human cells grown in culture (aka HeLa cells), were taken without her knowledge.
Examining Tuskegee: The Infamous Syphilis Study and Its Legacy by Susan M. Reverby
Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive analysis of the notorious study of untreated syphilis among African American men, who were told by U.S. Public Health Service doctors that they were being treated, not just watched, for their late-stage syphilis.

Nursing Theories Supporting Research

Nursing Theorists & Their Theories
Books and videos in the library collection, websites, and databases to use to search for articles.