"This is the ultimate guide to the classic automobile, in the defining years from 1945 to 1985 - the period that for many marks the pinnacle of automotive engineering and design style. The history of the development of the car is covered in detail - the milestone models, leading designers, engineers and manufacturers that came together to create so many classic cars. The directory that follows is a visual reference of every important international marque from A to Z, highlighting some of the most significant cars of the century: the Ferrari Daytona, the Lincoln Continental, the Rover 2000, the VW Beetle and the much-loved Mini. Full descriptions, history and technical information on each car is included, making this book the ultimate reference for every car enthusiast and collector.”
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T3 Drive Train exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Diesel Engines task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
"In Age of Auto Electric, Eisler argues that electric vehicle revival was driven not by better batteries but by the interplay between changing environmental and socio-economic conditions, energy and environmental policies, systems of energy conversion and industrial production, and material practices of innovation.”
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T3 Drive Train exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Drive Train task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
Automated vehicles : the safety of controllers, sensors, and actuators addresses the concept of safety for self-driving vehicles through the inclusion of 10 recent and highly relevent SAE technical papers. Topics that these papers feature include risk reduction techniques in semiconductor-based systems, component certification, and safety assessment and audits for vehcicle components. As the fifth title in a series on automated vehicle safety, this contains introductory content by the Editor with 10 SAE technical papers specifically chosen to illuminate the specific safety topic of that book.
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T5 Suspension and Steering exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Suspension and Steering task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
In Autonomous, Connected, Electric and Shared Vehicles: Disrupting the Automotive and Mobility Sectors, Umar Zakir Abdul Hamid provides an overview of ACES technology for cross-disciplinary audiences, including researchers, academics, and automotive professionals. Hamid bridges the gap among the book's varied audiences, exploring the development and deployment of ACES vehicles and the disruptions, challenges, and potential benefits of this new technology.
In this lively and entertaining work, Witold Rybczynski--hailed as "one of the best writers on design working today" by Publishers Weekly--tells the story of the most distinctive cars in history and the artists, engineers, dreamers, and gearheads who created them. Delving into more than 170 years of ingenuity in design, technology, and engineering, he takes us from Carl Benz's three-wheel motorcar in 1855 to the present-day shift to electric cars. Along the way, he looks at the emergence of mass production with Henry Ford's Model T; the Golden Age of American car design and the rise of car culture; postwar European subcompacts typified by the Mini Cooper; and the long tradition of the streamlined and elegant sports car. Rybczynski explores how cars have been reflections of national character (the charming Italian Fiat Cinquecento), icons of a subculture (the VW bus for American hippies), and even emblems of an era (the practical Chrysler minivan). He explains key developments in automotive technology, including the electric starter, rack-and-pinion steering, and disc brakes, bringing to light how the modern automobile is the result of more than a century of trial and error. And he weaves in charming accounts of the many cars he's owned and driven, starting with his first--the iconic Volkswagen Beetle. The Driving Machine is a breezy and fascinating history of design, illustrated with the author's delightful drawings.
Since the early seventies, the development of the automobile has been characterized by a steady increase in the deployment of onboard electronics systems and software. This trend continues unabated and is driven by rising end-user demands and increasingly stringent environmental requirements. Today, almost every function onboard the modern vehicle is electronically controlled or monitored. The software-based implementation of vehicle functions provides for unparalleled freedoms of concept and design. However, automobile development calls for the accommodation of contrasting prerequisites - such as higher demands on safety and reliability vs. lower cost ceilings, longer product life cycles vs. shorter development times - along with growing proliferation of model variants. Automotive Software Engineering has established its position at the center of these seemingly conflicting opposites. This book provides background basics as well as numerous suggestions, rare insights, and cases in point concerning those processes, methods, and tools that contribute to the surefooted mastery of the use of electronic systems and software in the contemporary automobile.
This book presents essential information on systems and interactions in automotive transmission technology and outlines the methodologies used to analyze and develop transmission concepts and designs.
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.
Why:
Why not:
We'll be working through this library catalog exercise together, using search terms like "automotive" and "customer service", just to give you some practice with searching. You'll be answering several questions related to the catalog soon. Let's get started. To begin, please open a Word document. Copy and paste your responses for each of the exercises to the same document, making sure to include your name at the beginning. This document will be submitted to the Dropbox at the end of class.
On the library homepage, locate the "Catalog Search" box, then follow the directions below to find a book.
Type your search terms in the box, click the search button, and select a book from the list of results. Click on its title.
Click on the "Cite" button and select the appropriate citation style for this class. You'll notice that the resulting citation includes the author, title, publisher's name, and date of publication, but you'll need additional availability information if you want to find the book: call number, location, and whether the item is on the shelf. (Look for the big green checkmark.)
That's all for now!
