Skip to Main Content

ABM310 Automotive Service Management: Find magazine articles

We'll show you how to find books in the library catalog, magazine articles in the Penn College databases, and reliable information on the Internet. You'll learn how to do legal research and how to create citations for your research papers.

What is a Database?

Databases: In library language, this primarily refers to electronic indexes that will allow you to find magazine, journal, or newspaper articles. There are full-text databases that include the entire magazine/journal/newspaper article and non-full-text databases that include only citation information (author, title of article, title of magazine, volume number, issue number, issue date, and page numbers) and sometimes an abstract (summary.) PCT subscribes to many different databases. To identify the focus of any one of these databases, you click on the database title. A description will pop up that will indicate what the database covers and whether it will identify magazine, journal, or newspaper articles. Above the description is a field that indicates if the database is full-text or not. If the database is a full-text database or partially full-text, it will contain complete articles in it. If it’s not a full-text or partially full-text database, it will only provide citation and usually summary information. This is called a non full-text database. As of now, Penn College subscribes to 176 different databases. Our "A-Z Databases" list can be searched as well as filtered by vendor (ProQuest, for example) or by 47 broad subjects. Match your topic with the category that fits it best and examine only the databases in that list. If you do have a specific database in mind, just click on the index letter it begins with.

When to Use Magazine Articles

When you need very recent information, and when you want full-text articles to read on your own computer.

Do we own it?

Paper (Print) Magazine Indexes

Once upon a time, instead of databases, magazine and newspaper articles were found by using print indexes.  Look at the excerpt provided at the link below.  After you have done this, notice the braces on the excerpt page.  These are highlighting “See” and “See Also” references.  “See” references give you the correct term(s) to search.  Under Automobiles —Accessories, for example, you will notice the correct terms to use to find information on this topic.  Those terms are Automobiles—Equipment. "Automobiles" is a major subject, with the subdivision "Equipment". “See Also” references give more specific topics to search than the major subject above them.  Notice the “See Also” references under the major heading Automobiles.  Can you see how these topics are more specific than Automobiles?  (And can you see how much easier it is to use databases?)

Interlibrary Loan

Automotive Databases

We have to include two databases specific to the automotive field, even though they don't have magazine articles. They contain a lot of valuable technical data.

Library Databases

Find Articles in

Google Scholar Search

Use the Google Scholar search box to search for articles on your topic, and then use the library's Journal Locator (under Databases) to get the full-text of those articles. If you use Google Chrome as your browser, there may be links which will take you directly to full text at Madigan Library.

Magazine articles exercise