Research Guides: Addiction Medicine: Encyclopedias

Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior, 3rd ed. by Korsmeyer, Pamela
Publication Date: 2009
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery by Fisher, Gary L.
Publication Date: 2009
Covers the neurobiology of addiction, models of addiction, sociocultural perspectives on drug use, family and community factors, prevention theories and techniques, professional issues, the criminal justice system and substance abuse, and assessment and diagnosis.

The Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse, 2e by Gwinnell, Esther
Publication Date: 2021
Covers the abuse of illegal and legal drugs and how it affects society.
Encyclopedia of Addictions by Hollen, Kathryn H.
Call Number: REF RC563.4 .H65 2009 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2009
Features entries on symptoms, terms, concepts, individuals, and disorders related to addiction.
Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors by Gwinnell, Esther
Call Number: REF RC564 .G95 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Covers signs, symptoms, and causes of addictive behaviors and discusses treatments and therapies.