BRW102 Introduction to Brewing, Fermentation & Distilling: Finding Books

Beer offers an amusing and informative account of the art and science of brewing, examining the history of brewing, and how the brewing process has evolved through the ages. The third edition features more information concerning the history of beer; British, Japanese, and Egyptian beer; beer in the context of health and nutrition; and the various styles of beer. This addition also added detailed information on prohibition, Sierra Nevada, life as a maltster, hopgrowing in the northwestern US, and how cans and bottles are made.

For millennia, beer has been a favorite beverage in cultures across the globe. After water and tea, it is the most popular drink in the world, and it is at the center of a $450 billion industry. This is the first major reference work to investigate the history and vast scope of beer. The Oxford Companion to Beer features more than 1,100 A-Z entries written by 166 of the world's most prominent beer experts.

The origins of brewing involve a whole galaxy of wild and cultivated plants, fruits, berries, and other natural materials, which were once used to make a whole spectrum of creative, fermented drinks. Now fermentation fans and home brewers can rediscover these "primitive" drinks and their unique flavors in The Wildcrafting Brewer.

The Beer Book is a visual catalog of more than 800 breweries, whistle-stop beer trails, and key beer facts, and is an indispensable guide to the world's favorite drink. Revised and updated to include the newest and hottest brews, The Beer Book features every significant brewery in every significant brewing nation, and showcases new and specialty beers, as well as the classics.

Beer Packaging, Second Edition guides users around the many potential pitfalls of packaging, particularly those that can affect your current or future customers, and ultimately your profit margins. It covers the beer packaging process from the tank to containers, to filling and boxing, and everything in between.

This book covers more than 500 different beers from all over the world. It covers the history of these beers, and provides photographs of beer collectables such as labels, posters, beer mats and emblems.

The World Encyclopedia of Beer is a guide wh ich will satisfy the curiosity of anyone who wants to know w here their favourite brews come from, how they are made, and the exciting possibilities each drink presents. '

The "Beer Companion" is a terrific, fully illustrated introduction to the beer tradition. Includes explanations of beer styles and traditions linking beer and food around the world.

Explains how beer is made, describes different kinds and brands made around the world, and tells how to choose and evaluate a beer.

This completely updated second edition of the best-selling beer resource features the most current information on beer styles, flavor profiles, sensory evaluation guidelines, craft beer trends, food and beer pairings, and draft beer systems.

This book reveals the full spectrum of flavors contained in the more than 50 distinct styles of beer from around the world. Most importantly, he shows how beer, which is far more versatile than wine, intensifies flavors when it's appropriately paired with foods to create a dining experience most people have never imagined.

Microbrewed Adventures is your shotgun seat to unique, eccentric and pioneering craft-brews and the fascinating people who create them.

Beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and Coca-Cola represent six eras that span the course of civilization--from the adoption of agriculture, to the birth of cities, to the advent of globalization. A History of the World in 6 Glasses tells the story of humanity from the Stone Age to the twenty-first century through each epoch's signature refreshment, and describes how each drink is in fact a kind of technology, advancing culture and catalyzing the intricate interplay of different societies.

Contains descriptions and ratings of over 3400 beers from around the world. The Beer Log serves as a personal reference for beer lovers and connoisseurs, store owners and restaurateurs alike.

This book is a reproduction of an important historical work originally published in 1880. The information contained is of value to those who are interested in any phase of the beer question, whether as brewers, legislators, or students of sociology.

Modern beer has little in common with the drink that carried that name through the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Beer in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance presents an extraordinarily detailed history of the business, art, and governance of brewing.

As the production of bottled beers grew in the early twentieth century, so did the popularity of simple beer label designs. Today, these collector's items represent a variety of types of beers and many graphic styles. This is a lavishly illustrated book for the library shelf and makes for an attractive gift.

This book takes a look at microbreweries--prime examples of American enterprise and innovation--from an industry outsider's perspective. The author explores a select number of small breweries from around the United States, covering their signature brews, histories, and what it took for them to claim their niches in the marketplace.

A spirited look at the history of alcohol, from the dawn of civilization to the modern day Alcohol is a fundamental part of Western culture. We have been drinking as long as we have been human, and for better or worse, alcohol has shaped our civilization. Drink investigates the history of this Jekyll and Hyde of fluids, tracing mankind's love/hate relationship with alcohol from ancient Egypt to the present day. Drink further documents the contribution of alcohol to the birth and growth of the United States, taking in the War of Independence, the Pennsylvania Whiskey revolt, the slave trade, and the failed experiment of national Prohibition. Finally, it provides a history of the world's most famous drinks-and the world's most famous drinkers. Packed with trivia and colorful characters, Drink amounts to an intoxicating history of the world.

Beer Styles from Around the World is a unique collection of more than 150 recipes filling more than 400 pages for some of the world’s most important beer styles, developed by brewing cultures all around the globe.

Using an analytical, data-based approach, the authors touch on all areas of yeast management and offer an informative discussion on brewing procedures and materials.

Covering the various stages of beer production, reference is also made to microbiology within the brewery and some pointers to research on the topic are given.

In this book, home-brewing experts share award-winning recipes. Using extract-based recipes for most categories, the duo gives sure-footed guidance to brewers interested in reproducing classic beer styles for their own enjoyment or to enter into competitions.

The unique simplicity of the Q&A format makes understanding and application straightforward. Practical convenience is the objective for this handbook series which stresses useful applications over theory.

Revised and expanded, this text includes more information on craft-brewing techniques and more information specific to ale brewing. Author Greg Noonan guides the reader through an advanced discussion on how to produce high-quality beer every time you brew.

This book presents a novel methodology on what goes into beer and the results of the process. From adjuncts to yeast, and from foam to chemometrics, this unique approach puts quality at its foundation, revealing how the right combination builds to a great beer.

The Draught Beer Quality Manual presents well-researched, detailed information on draught line cleaning, system components and design, pressure and gas balance, proper pouring technique, glassware sanitation, and other valuable advice from experts. Also included is information on direct- and long-draw draught systems, important safety tips, and helpful visuals for easy reference.

The unique simplicity of the Q&A format makes understanding and application straightforward. Editor Karl Ockert has assembled a talented group of expert contributors from within the pub, craft, and large brewing communities, who write from their own experience and knowledge to bring you the know-how you need in order to answer real-life questions quickly and easily. Practical convenience is the objective for this handbook series which stresses useful applications over theory.

The unique simplicity of the Q&A format makes understanding and application straightforward. Editor Karl Ockert has assembled a talented group of expert contributors from within the pub, craft, and large brewing communities, who write from their own experience and knowledge to bring you the know-how you need in order to answer real-life questions quickly and easily. Practical convenience is the objective for this handbook series which stresses useful applications over theory.

Written for staff who manage quality assurance (QA) and quality control (QC) in breweries of all sizes, this book clearly sets out how quality management is integrated into every level of operation. Breweries must foster a culture of quality, where governance and management seamlessly merge policy, strategy, specifications, goals, and implementation to execute a QA/QC program.

Humans have been perfecting alcohol production for ten thousand years, but scientists are just starting to distill the chemical reactions behind the perfect buzz. In a spirited tour across continents and cultures, Adam Rogers takes us from bourbon country to the world's top gene-sequencing labs, introducing us to the bars, barflies, and evolving science at the heart of boozy technology. He chases the physics, biology, chemistry, and metallurgy that produce alcohol, and the psychology and neurobiology that make us want it.

Topics include an introduction to beer microbiology, covering yeast properties and management, spoilage bacteria and other contaminants, tactics to reduce microbial spoilage, the impact of microbiology on the sensory quality of beer, and the safe management and valorisation of brewing waste.

FOAM describes factors impacting foam, and ends with an explanation of how problems with too much or too little foam can be interpreted and rectified. It explains the role that foam plays in perceived quality, the factors that impact foam, and the contributions that all stages make to foam. It describes how to measure head stability and cling and diagnose problems with over foaming.

FLAVOR is the second book in the Practical Guides for Beer Quality series. FLAVOR offers an easy-to-read yet comprehensive and authoritative description on the science of flavor in brewing. It also addresses how factors such as raw materials and the process impact the flavor and aroma of beer.

FRESHNESS, the third book in the Practical Guides for Beer Quality series, describes how beer consumers today are less forgiving with flavor inconsistencies, due to increasingly sophisticated tastes and heightened expectations. Breweries continue trying to raise the bar on beer quality, and flavor instability is currently one of the most critical quality issues faced by this industry.

COLOR AND CLARITY, the fourth book in the Practical Guides for Beer Quality series, takes readers through the complex nature of color and turbidity, including what effects color and clarity, how to achieve desired qualities, and how to measure and interpret these qualities. This book also provides useful references and links on the topic.

QUALITY SYSTEMS, the fifth book in its series, explains the processes behind the development of standard methods, how they are evaluated, and why they are important. He discusses the difference between quality control and quality assurance and introduces Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points and Hazard Analysis and Risk-Based Preventive Controls.

BEER SAFETY AND WHOLESOMENESS is the final book in its series. It describes factors that underlie beer safety and wholesomeness, highlighting food safety issues associated with producing beer, the current understanding of beer consumption, the basis for making health claims about beer consumption, and potential negative and positive health effects of drinking beer.

Topics include the physiology, fermentation, taxonomy, diversity, typing, genetic manipulation, genomics and evolution of brewing yeasts, as well as fungal contamination of barley and malt, spoilage by lactic acid bacteria and gram-negative bacteria, and beer-spoiling yeasts.

This timely book provides a refreshing update for experienced brewing professionals and a valuable primer on brewing science for anyone new to the science or in need of a current review. It provides reader-friendly coverage of basic brewing chemistry and biochemistry that will be meaningful to anyone with an interest in brewing.

This book provides a definitive overview of modern and traditional brewing fermentation. Coverage includes all aspects of brewing fermentation together with the biochemistry, physiology and genetics of brewers' yeast.

This comprehensive and highly technical study bridges the gap between professional brewing texts and standard texts on chemistry, biochemistry and thermodynamics.

This book investigates the physics and chemistry of beer, recounting and explaining the history of and key technological advances in brewing, providing basic instructions for making your own, and looking at the fascinating physical phenomena contained within a pint of beer.

This is the third edition of a widely acclaimed text which covers the whole field of modern food microbiology. It covers the three main aspects of the interaction between micro-organisms and food - spoilage, foodborne illness and fermentation - and the positive and negative features that result. It discusses the factors affecting the presence of micro-organisms in foods and their capacity to survive and grow. Also included are recent developments in procedures used to assay and control the microbiological quality of food and protect public health.

This expansive and detailed work is written in conversational style, walking students through all the brewing basics from the origin and history of beer to the brewing process to post-brew packaging and quality control and assurance.

This book provides a solid foundation of scientific information plus the practical knowledge needed to create and operate a successful brewery laboratory. Utilizing an easy-to-understand format and a conversational tone, the authors introduce the fundamentals of chemistry, microbiology, and sensory.