Research Guides: Chemistry: Websites

Chemistry Websites

CADD Group Chemoinformatics Tools and User Services
The CADD Group's Chemoinformatics Tools and User Services is the public web server of the Computer-Aided Drug Design (CADD) Group of the Chemical Biology Laboratory (CBL), NCI, NIH located at NCI-Frederick. The purpose of this service is to provide structures, data, tools, programs and other useful information to the public. No access restrictions are placed, and the general public is invited to use this site; however, the information is NOT GEARED toward the general public, and will probably be most useful for researchers working with, or interested in, chemical information, in particular for research groups engaged in computer-aided drug design.
CAMEO Chemicals: Database of Hazardous Materials
CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for first responders and emergency planners who are involved in hazardous materials incident response and planning. It is an online library of more than 6,000 data sheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, and/or stored in the United States.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider makes available a database of chemical structures and predicted properties as well as providing access to a series of property prediction algorithms. ChemSpider is built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and making it available to everybody, for free.
Common Chemistry
Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. CAS has collaborated with Wikipedia in developing this resource and encourages you to use the Wikipedia link (when available) or other sources of general information on chemistry, to learn more about these chemicals
PubChem Project
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific Websites

Animated Tutorials/Java Applets: Chemistry
The goal of Sumanas, Inc. is to design and produce innovative educational solutions. They strive to combine traditional course material with enhanced graphics, video, and animation to provide a more compelling presentation of pedagogical materials.
ChemTube3D
ChemTube3D contains interactive 3D animations and structures, with supporting information for some of the most important topics covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree.

American Chemical Society
Royal Society of Chemistry
The RSC is the largest organisation in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences. Supported by a worldwide network of members and an international publishing business, our activities span education, conferences, science policy and the promotion of chemistry to the public.
Society of Chemical Industry
Offers a chance to share information between sectors as diverse as food and agriculture, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, environmental science and safety.
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
Nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise.
Online Chemistry Calculator
Online chemistry calculators, Periodic Table of the Elements, Ideal Gas Law, Boyles Law, Charles Law, Gay-Lussac's Law, Combined Gas Law.

Society for the History of Alchemy and Chemistry
Founded in 1935, SHAC has consistently maintained the highest standards of scholarship in all aspects of the history of alchemy and chemistry from early times to the present. The Society has a wide international membership of over 200 with members from 28 countries.
History of Chemistry
From Wikipedia

Scientific American: Chemistry

Chemistry World

MedWorm: Chemistry

American Elements
A manufacturer of engineered and advanced material products, this corporate Web site can be used as a source of information on the elements.
Atomic Structure and the Periodic Table
This "online textbook" is designed to provide a thorough, in-depth treatment of this topic at the first-year college or advanced-HS levels, with a special focus on the underlying concepts. Included are six lessons: quanta: a new view of the world; light, particles, and waves; the Bohr atom; the quantum atom; atomic electron configurations; and periodic properties of the elements.
Hunting the Elements
David Pogue, the lively host of NOVA’s popular "Making Stuff" series and technology correspondent of The New York Times, spins viewers through the world of weird, extreme chemistry: the strongest acids, the deadliest poisons, the universe’s most abundant elements, and the rarest of the rare—substances cooked up in atom smashers that flicker into existence for only fractions of a second.
Periodic Table Interactive
The Periodic Table is an interactive Web site where students can learn about the Periodic Table of the Elements: how it is organized (into groups); the atomic structure of each group; characteristics of isotopes; the scientific notation that is used to define atoms and elements; and how the chemical properties of elements are determined by their atomic composition. Media

ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts tests which can be incorporated into a variety of teaching approaches as pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and in-class activities for individuals or teams. It is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon University for college and high school teachers who are interested in using, assessing, and/or creating engaging online activities for chemistry education.
Resources for Teaching Chemistry
This site includes links to teaching resources such as the Molecular Logic Database and Strange Matter. Developed by Norman Herr, PhD, California State, Northridge
Green Chemistry Teaching
ACS aims to increase awareness and understanding of Green Chemistry principles, alternatives, practices, and benefits within traditional educational institutions and among practicing scientists. These resources were developed by the ACS Green Chemistry Institute® and the ACS Education Division.
Education
Resources from The Royal Society of Chemistry