Anthropology: Area and Ethnic Studies

The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

The African Studies Centre in Leiden is the only academic research institute in the Netherlands devoted entirely to the study of Africa. Included in this Web site is African Studies Abstracts Online.

AIATSIS is the world’s premier institution for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. The Institute undertakes and encourages scholarly, ethical community-based research, holds a priceless collection of films, photographs, video and audio recordings and the world’s largest collections of printed and other resource materials for Indigenous Studies, and has its own publishing house. Its activities affirm and raise awareness among all Australians, and people of other nations, of the richness and diversity of Australian Indigenous cultures and histories.

The website of Stateless Nations, native peoples, national, cultural and linguistic minorities, ethnic groups, areas with strong identity and autonomist, independantist or separatist tendencies in Europe." Search for minorities by an alphabetical list, within a State, by type of conflict, by type of claims, or by type. Data is also available on European languages, maps and other resources, such as flags, books, and political parties.

This site links users to libraries and their collections around the world. Also included in this portal are links to centers, databases, and other resources available on the Web.

This Web guide is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on the Middle East and North Africa (in the broadest sense) available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the Middle East Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. Electronic resources from the Middle East are organized by region, country and subject. All materials are arranged to encourage an awareness of authorship, type of information, and subject. The scope of the collection is research-oriented, but it also provides access to other gopher and web sites with different or broader missions.