The collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect of the Georgia Sea Islands; the stories of ex-slaves, told while still vivid in the minds of those who endured one of the most harrowing periods of American history; an Appalachian fiddle tune that has been heard on concert stages around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music recorded shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives from throughout the United States; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world.
The American Museum of Natural History is a nonprofit research institution chartered as a Museum and Library by the State of New York in 1869. Since that time the Library has grown into the largest natural history library in the Western Hemisphere. The Library's primary function is to serve and support the work of the Museum's scientific staff. The Library also serves scholars in natural history from around the world, as well as interested members of the general public. The Library's holdings are comprised of a research collection, special collections, and digital collections.
The American Philosophical Society Library is a major national center for research in the history of the sciences, medicine, and technology. With its roots extending back to the founding of the Society in 1743, it houses over 300,000 volumes and bound periodicals, eight million manuscripts, 100,000 images, and thousands of hours of audio tape. The Library's manuscript collections include a vast range of materials covering such topics as eighteenth-century natural history, American Indian linguistics and culture, nuclear physics, computer development, and medical science.
The Anthropology Library at the British Museum's Centre for Anthropology is effectively the United Kingdom's national anthropological library, housing the library collections of the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) and the British Museum's Department of Africa, Oceania and the Americas (formerly the Department of Ethnography).
This collection is made up of three components: first, silk textiles collected by Field Museum curator Berthold Laufer during an extended tour of China from 1908-1910; second, the Carl Schuster collection which includes Western and Southwestern folk embroideries that are mainly cross stitches in cotton thread on cotton cloth with combinations of either blue on white or white on blue, and used mainly by Han Chinese and the minority groups living in these regions; and third, The Field Museum's additional Chinese folk textiles.
Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop, the last descendant of the royal Kamehameha family. The Museum was established to house the extensive collection of Hawaiian artifacts and royal family heirlooms of the Princess, and has expanded to include millions of artifacts, documents and photographs about Hawai‘i and other Pacific island cultures. Included is a link to their library and archives where you can access one of several databases created to share information about this region of the world.
Over the 50 years of its existence, the Institute of Race Relations has gathered together a unique collection of posters, leaflets, flyers, newspaper cuttings, campaign materials and more than 160 journals from black community and grassroots groups in the anti-racist struggle. Catalogued and conserved with the aid of the Heritage Lottery Fund, the Black History Collection spans the 1950s to the 1980s and covers topics such as black workers’ struggles for representation at work and in their unions, anti-deportation campaigns, policing and racial violence, the Black Power movement, the education, health and social welfare of black children, the 1958 Notting Hill riots, anti-fascism and uprisings.
Part of the Field Museum, the Boone Collection consists of over 3,500 East Asian artifacts gathered by Commander Gilbert E. Boone and his wife Katharine Phelps Boone. The Boones acquired most of these objects in the late 1950s, during a three-year tour of duty in Japan. Consequently, the objects are predominantly Japanese (accounting for over 50% of The Field Museum's Japanese collection), but a significant number are also from China and Korea.
As the national museum of human history, the Canadian Museum of Civilization is committed to fostering in all Canadians a sense of their common identity and their shared past. At the same time, it hopes to promote understanding between the various cultural groups that are part of Canadian society.
The Division of Anthropology is dedicated to the study of human culture and biology. It was established in 1873, only four years after the founding of the museum. One of the Anthropology Division's most important missions is the preservation of, and access to, the archaeological, ethnological, and physical anthropology collections, assembled from around the world by Museum personnel from the time the Museum's founding to the present day. The collections include more than 500,000 objects from cultures in the Americas, Africa, Asia, and the Greater North Pacific region.
The George and Mary Foster Anthropology Library, located in Kroeber Hall, is a branch library of The University of California, Berkeley Library System and functions as part of the larger Anthropology complex which includes the Department of Anthropology, the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology, the Archaeological Research Facility, and the Folklore Archive.
The Library's international collections comprise materials from all over the globe and its foreign-language materials are stunning in their scope and quality. Access to the international collections varies by language and the type of material. The Library's reading rooms are the primary gateways to these resources. The Library's reading rooms offer in-depth reference assistance, provide substantive briefings on a wide range of subjects relating to the countries, languages and cultures represented within their collections, produce guides to specific Library's resources, and cooperate in developing and preserving the Library's unparalleled collections.
The Anthropology Library, officially known as the John Wesley Powell Library of Anthropology, is one of 20 branches in the Smithsonian Institution Libraries' system. It is located within the Anthropology Department and supports the research, publication, exhibitions, and public programming of the department and other museums and offices within the Smithsonian. Its collection reflects the important role that the Smithsonian Institution played in the development of anthropology as a formal discipline in the United States.
This website details the history, progress, and future prospects of the Kish Project, a federally funded effort to virtually reconcile and publish, in both print and digital formats, the expansive—and divided—collection of ancient material culture from the Mesopotamian city of Kish.
The goal of the website is be a single access point for retrieval of information about the functions, services and collections of Libraries in Asia and the Pacific region...Each library page includes where possible, information about the functions, services, collections and legislation of that library, and links to the Library's own website if it has one.
Established in 1954, the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University is the largest separate Africana collection in existence. Its scope is as wide as the continent of Africa itself; its subject matter ranges from art, history, literature, music, and religion to communications, management, and cooking. The Africana collection is a resource for the entire university, and most of Northwestern's disciplinary programs are reflected in the collection. In addition to serving the NU community, the Herskovits Library staff also serves regional, national, and international scholars as well.
This online museum allows the Museum to reach visitors beyond its physical boundaries and to provide greater access to collections and related information for researchers, students, and other interested individuals. Online features include donor profiles and collection summaries, samples of items on display in the Museum, and virtual exhibits of materials from the Museum's extensive holdings that are not currently included in the Museum's exhibit hall.
This museum opened to the public in 1953 and has gained national and international recognition as the home to the world’s largest collection of folk art. The collection of more than 135,000 artifacts forms the basis for exhibitions in four distinct wings: Bartlett, Girard, Hispanic Heritage, and Neutrogena.
The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars. Included are online exhibits and a guide to the collections.
The National Library of Australia is the country's largest reference library. Our role is to ensure that documentary resources of national significance relating to Australia and the Australian people, as well as significant non-Australian library materials, are collected, preserved and made accessible either through the Library itself or through collaborative arrangements with other libraries and information providers.
The Field Museum of Natural History has an extensive collection of valuable archaeological materials from the southwestern United States, most often referred to as the "Paul S. Martin Collection." These materials derive from work conducted between 1930 and the early 1970s, when Paul Martin was involved in single-season and multi-season excavations at 69 sites; six major surveys were also undertaken during this period. Research topics addressed by Martin's fieldwork include the origins of the Mogollon culture, early horticultural development in the American Southwest, the nature of human social relationships within and among communities in the prehistoric southwest, the nature of Chacoan outliers, and others.
Founded in 1866 and located at Harvard University, the Peabody Museum is one of the oldest museums in the world devoted to anthropology and houses one of the most comprehensive records of human cultural history in the Western Hemisphere. The Peabody Museum: engages in ongoing anthropological discourse through exhibitions, workshops, symposia, and publications; allows faculty and students to draw upon the collections to enrich classes and research; and serves a wide public audience through educational programs developed in collaboration with Harvard’s Museum of Natural History, the Peabody also serves a wide public audience.
The Museum of Anthropology at the University of California, Berkeley, was founded in 1901 by Phoebe Apperson Hearst who envisioned the Museum as the cultural cornerstone of one of the world’s leading research institutions — a great educator of the people of California. Today, the Hearst Museum houses the oldest and largest anthropological collection in the West. The Museum preserves and interprets a global record of material culture through its more than 3.8 million objects. It also promotes the history and diversity of human cultures through research, exhibitions, and programs.
The Robert Goldwater Library is dedicated to the documentation of the arts of Africa, the Pacific Islands, and native and Precolumbian America. The library contains more than thirty thousand volumes and 150 current periodical subscriptions.
From its foundation in 1868, the organisation known successively as the Colonial Society, Royal Colonial Institute, Royal Empire Society and finally the Royal Commonwealth Society, amassed a library on the British Empire, the Commonwealth and member countries (together with smaller collections on the empires of rival nations) - an astonishing range of books, pamphlets, periodicals, official publications, manuscripts and photographs. The collection now consists of over 300,000 printed items, circa 700 archival collections (including manuscript diaries, correspondence, pictures, cine films, scrapbooks and newspaper cuttings) and over 100,000 photographs.
Welcome to SOAS Library, one of the world's most important academic libraries for the study of Africa, Asia and the Middle East, which attracts scholars from all over the world to conduct research. The Library houses over 1.2 million volumes at the SOAS campus at Russell Square in central London, together with significant archival holdings, special collections and a growing network of electronic resources. SOAS Library is committed to: providing services to support teaching, learning and research; developing internationally significant collections to support scholarship now and in the future; providing a high quality learning environment; improving access to information and services; teaching information skills; and supporting independent learning.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The holdings of the Smithsonian’s archival, library and specialized research collections can be found online in the Smithsonian Research Information System (SIRIS). With over a 1,700,000 records, SIRIS covers a wide variety of topical subjects from Art & Design, to History & Culture, to Science & Technology. The materials combine to shed light on innumerable historical events, scientific discoveries, cultural happenings, artistic styles, and social conditions. Ranging from the mundane to the momentous, the Smithsonian collections provide documentary evidence that both reveals our past and fosters new discoveries. SIRIS entries cover a wide variety of topical subjects from Art & Design, to History & Culture, to Science & Technology. Entries in the SIRIS online catalog are often accompanied by digitized images and finding aids.
The Field Museum was incorporated in the State of Illinois on September 16, 1893 as the Columbian Museum of Chicago with its purpose the "accumulation and dissemination of knowledge, and the preservation and exhibition of objects illustrating art, archaeology, science and history." In 1905, the Museum's name was changed to Field Museum of Natural History to honor the Museum's first major benefactor, Marshall Field, and to better reflect its focus on the natural sciences. In 1921 the Museum moved from its original location in Jackson Park to its present site on Chicago Park District property near downtown where it is part of a lakefront Museum Campus that includes the John G. Shedd Aquarium and the Adler Planetarium. The Field Museum was founded to house the biological and anthropological collections assembled for the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893. These objects form the core of the Museum's collections which have grown through world-wide expeditions, exchange, purchase, and gifts to more than twenty million specimens. The collections form the foundation of the Museum's exhibition, research and education programs, which are further informed by a world-class natural history library of more than 250,000 volumes. Includes links to Anthropology Research and Collections and the Anthropology Collections of the Field Museum.
This library houses preeminent collections supporting the study of anthropology and all subfields, including archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, biological/physical anthropology, and anthropological linguistics and noted collections relating to the indigenous peoples of the Americas.