Use the Google Scholar search box to search for articles on your topic, and then use the Journals/Newspaper Titles search button on the library's home page to get the full-text of those articles. If you use Google Chrome as your browser, there may be links which will take you directly to full text at Madigan Library.
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Do you have a citation and want to see if we have the article? Search for journal titles to see if we have the journal in full-text online or in print here in the library.
Use the “Database Directory (A-Z)” list if you know which database you want to use, and use the "All Subjects" drop-down menu to help you decide on a database if you’re not sure. You can narrow down your choices using its ten categories. Click on the database name on either list to find out the contents of the database and what years it covers.
If you became somewhat familiar with ProQuest when you took the Library Tutorial, you’ll be glad to know that there are other ProQuest databases in most subject categories, so you’ll already know how to search them.
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
This link opens in a new windowCovers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, and surgery, as well as consumer health and health administration.
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
A broad general reference resource with a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics in scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and others.
This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Includes personal information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, and informative essays about their lives and work.
This link opens in a new windowCovers social issues and includes pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles, full-text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to pertinent websites.
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.
You can get full access to the New York Times from any device. Just log in to any computer on campus and go to nytimes.com/grouppass, then create an account. From then on, you'll be able to use your account anywhere you have internet access.
If you're doing an argument paper, remember that in class I suggested that certain document types could be really useful, such as "editorial", "interview", "letter to the editor", etc., in order to get someone's opinion on the topic. Another thing that can be very helpful is to think about the kinds of sources that can be useful for your topic. If, for example, your issue is something that's really important in the field of your major, look for the topic in trade journals. You can make that selection in ProQuest and a number of other databases.