Crime & Deviance: Home

The American Journal of Criminal Justice is a peer reviewed publication offering research on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues. Coverage addresses the criminal justice process, the formal and informal interplay between system components, problems and solutions experienced by various segments, innovative practices, policy development and implementation, evaluative research, the players engaged in these enterprises, and a wide assortment of other related interests. The Journal publishes original articles that utilize a broad range of methodologies and perspectives when examining crime, law, and criminal justice processing.

Contemporary Justice Review is an interdisciplinary journal for scholars, activists, and practitioners of social and restorative justice around the globe who seek to design and implement models of justice that take into account the needs of all. The journal publishes cutting-edge work on: social and restorative justice theory; restorative justice demonstration projects; peacemaking criminology; state crimes and healing from genocide; peaceful methods of conflict resolution; truth and reconciliation commissions; environmental justice; critiques of criminal justice institutions and law; structural issues of justice in the family, school, and workplace; utopian visions of a just society; and non-violent, needs-meeting solutions to needs-denying, power-based social arrangements.

Crime & Delinquency is a peer reviewed, policy-oriented journal for the scholar and professional with an interest in the field of criminology and criminal justice. The journal was developed to focus on a wide variety of issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system.

Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health – CBMH – aims to publish original material on any aspect of the relationship between mental state and criminal behaviour. Thus, we are interested in mental mechanisms associated with offending, regardless of whether the individual concerned has a mental disorder or not. We are interested in factors that influence such relationships, and particularly welcome studies about pathways into and out of crime. These will include studies of normal and abnormal development, of mental disorder and how that may lead to offending for a subgroup of sufferers, together with information about factors which mediate such a relationship. We are particularly keen to attract treatment studies and studies evaluating the impact of a range of interventions and new services designed to increase public safety as well as the safety and well-being of the perpetrators of crime and their victims.

Criminal Justice and Behavior publishes articles examining psychological and behavioral aspects of the juvenile and criminal justice systems. The concepts "criminal justice" and "behavior" should be interpreted broadly to include analyses of etiology of delinquent or criminal behavior, the process of law violation, victimology, offender classification and treatment, deterrence, and incapacitation.

Criminal Justice Ethics is a journal published three times a year designed to focus greater attention on ethical issues in criminal justice by and for philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges, and other contributors to an informed social discourse. Its editorial scope includes topics relating to the police, the courts, corrections, and broader issues in legal philosophy that bear on criminal justice and its processes.

Criminal Justice Matters (CJM) is the quarterly magazine of the Centre for Crime and Justice Studies. The magazine engages critically with research, analysis and policy development relating to contemporary social, crime and justice issues in the UK and abroad. It provides a space for critical analysis, debate and the sharing of research, ideas, perspectives and practice. The Centre's work is underpinned by the values of independence, honesty, quality and justice, all of which are reflected in the content and editorial policy of CJM. CJM is aimed at, and commissions articles from, a broad range of professions and interest areas, including academics, students, practitioners, campaigners, policy makers, journalists and interested members of the public. Presented in ‘jargon-free' language and an accessible format, each issue contains a number of articles on a specific theme, supplemented by a selection of non-themed articles reflecting and informing on current issues and debates.

Criminal Justice Review is a scholarly journal dedicated to presenting a broad perspective on criminal justice issues. It focuses on any aspect of crime and the justice system and can feature local, state, or national concerns. Both qualitative and quantitative pieces are encouraged, providing that they adhere to standards of quality scholarship. As a peer-reviewed journal, we encourage the submission of articles, research notes, commentaries, and comprehensive essays that focus on crime and broadly defined justice-related topics.

Criminal Justice Studies, a quarterly refereed journal, publishes articles that deal with substantive criminal justice and criminological issues. The journal welcomes all articles that are relevant to the issue of criminal justice, as well as those that may be outside the field but have relevancy to the topic of criminal justice. Articles that cover public administration, issues of public policy, as well as public affairs issues are welcome. The journal also publishes relevant literature reviews, research notes and summary reports of innovative research projects in criminal justice.

Criminology is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Disciplines covered include sociology, psychology, design, systems analysis, and decision theory. Major emphasis is placed on empirical research and scientific methodology. The journal’s content also includes articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.

Criminology & Public Policy is interdisciplinary in nature, devoted to policy discussions of criminology research findings. Focusing on the study of criminal justice policy and practice, the central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime and justice policy by publishing empirically based, policy focused articles.

Criminology and Criminal Justice is a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the broad field of criminology and criminal justice policy and practice. The journal publishes scholarly articles on all areas of criminology, crime and criminal justice. It includes theoretical pieces, as well as empirically-based analyses of policy and practice in areas that range from policing to sentencing, community penalties and prisons; drug use to organized crime and terrorism; and from crime prevention to victims of crime.

The journal Critical Criminology explores social, political and economic justice from alternative perspectives, including anarchistic, cultural, feminist, integrative, Marxist, peace-making, postmodernist and left-realist criminology. Rather than limit the scope of its coverage to state definitions of crime, Critical Criminology focuses on issues of social harm and social justice, including work exploring the intersecting lines of class, gender, race/ethnicity and heterosexism. The journal will benefit professionals interested in alternative methodologies and theories, including chaos theory, non-linear analysis, and complex systems science as it pertains to the study of crime and criminal justice. The journal offers works that focus on creative and cooperative solutions to justice problems, plus strategies for the construction of a more inclusive society.

Deviant Behavior is the only journal that specifically and exclusively addresses social deviance. International and interdisciplinary in scope, it publishes refereed theoretical, descriptive, methodological, and applied papers. All aspects of deviant behavior are discussed, including crime, juvenile delinquency, alcohol abuse and narcotic addiction, sexual deviance, societal reaction to handicap and disfigurement, mental illness, and socially inappropriate behavior.

The Howard Journal of Criminal Justice is a peer review journal which is concerned with all major aspects of the criminal justice process, penal policy and crime prevention, in Britain and overseas.

Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice (CCJ), published quarterly and guest-edited by an expert in the topic being studied, focuses on a critical issue in contemporary criminal justice in order to provide a cogent, thorough, and timely exploration of the topic. Authoritative, balanced examinations on a variety of critical issues in criminal justice today include; organized crime, community policing, gangs, white-collar crime, and excessive police force.

The Journal of Crime and Justice is a triannual peer-reviewed journal featuring original scholarly work in the area of crime and criminal justice. JC&J welcomes quantitative and qualitative articles, theoretical commentaries, and book reviews. Special topic issues are also welcomed.

The Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice explores the prejudice that currently affects our judicial system, our courts, our prisons, and our neighborhoods all around the world. This unique multidisciplinary journal is the only publication that focuses exclusively on crime, criminal justice, and ethnicity/race. Here you'll find insightful commentaries, position papers, and examinations of new and existing legislation by scholars and professionals committed to the study of ethnicity and criminal justice. In addition, the Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice presents the latest empirical findings, theoretical discussion, and research on social and criminal justice issues. It also provides scholarly thoughts and informed opinions on current and controversial issues, including racial profiling, race and death penalty, drug laws and minorities, and felony disenfranchisement laws and ethnicity.

The Journal of Offender Rehabilitation is a multidisciplinary journal of innovation in research, services and programs in criminal justice and corrections. The journal is an essential professional resource for practitioners, educators and researchers who work with individuals involved in the criminal justice system and study the dynamics of rehabilitation and individual and system change. Original research using qualitative or quantitative methodology, theoretical discussions, evaluations of program outcomes, and state of the science reviews will be considered. A primary journal focus is the use of research to improve practice, with articles clearly defining the theoretical and empirical basis for program models and establishing connections between research findings and needed interventions and services. Programs and services for correctional populations residing in prison, as well as in the community, are examined. The range of topics included in the journal is broad and encompasses alternatives to incarceration; community reentry and reintegration; alcohol, substance abuse and mental health treatment interventions; services for correctional populations with special needs; recidivism prevention strategies; educational and vocational programs; families and incarceration; and culturally appropriate practice and probation and parole services.

Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (JRCD), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers articles, research notes, review essays and Special Issues to keep you up-to-date on contemporary issues and controversies within the criminal justice field. For more than 40 years, this international forum has explored the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice and examined victims, criminals, courts and sanctions.

JQ is a refereed, multi-disciplinary journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and interpretive studies of issues related to criminal justice.

Race and Justice: An International Journal will serve as a quarterly forum for the best scholarship on race, ethnicity, and justice. Of particular interest to the journal are policy-oriented papers that examine how race/ethnicity intersects with justice system outcomes across the globe. The journal is also open to research that aims to test or expand theoretical perspectives exploring the intersection of race/ethnicity, class, gender, and justice. The journal is open to scholarship from all disciplinary origins and methodological approaches (qualitative and/or quantitative).

Victims & Offenders is a peer-reviewed journal that provides an interdisciplinary and international forum for the dissemination of new research, policies, and practices related to both victimization and offending throughout the life course. Our aim is to provide an opportunity for researchers -- both in the United States and internationally -- from a wide range of disciplines (criminal justice, psychology, sociology, political science, economics, public health, and social work) to publish articles that examine issues from a variety of perspectives in a unique, interdisciplinary forum. We are interested in both quantitative and qualitative research, systematic, evidence-based reviews, and articles that focus on theory development related to offenders and victims. The journal is published quarterly and each issue will include original research, book reviews, and an “opinion” section highlighting critical issues in the areas of victimization and offending.

Women & Criminal Justice is the only periodical devoted specifically to scholarly interdisciplinary and international research on all concerns related to women and criminal justice. It provides scholars with a single forum devoted to this critical specialty area in the fields of criminal justice, human rights, law, politics, sociology, social work, and women's studies. Both qualitative and quantitative studies are welcomed, as are studies that test theories about women as victims, professionals and offenders.