Research Guides: Electronics & Computer Engineering Technology: Dictionaries

What is a dictionary?

Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.

Lookup Definitions Using...

Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary by Kaplan, Steven M.
Call Number: REF TK9 .K39 2004
ISBN: 0471402249
Publication Date: 2004
This dictionary provides researchers, working engineers, students, and those in related disciplines with the definitions of some 35,000 terms and acronyms used in modern electrical and electronics literature. Entries require no cross-referencing to achieve full understanding of terms. Kaplan is a lexicographer with a number of works to his credit. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
The Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics, 8e by Gibilisco, Stan
Publication Date: 2001
Provides A-Z definitions, acronyms, illustrations, schematic symbols, and electrical system conversion tables relating to the core basics of this field, as well as terminology denoting the latest technological developments (e.g. in fiber optic communications, digital electronics, and lasers).

Abbreviations Used in Electronics
ATIS Telecom Glossary
This document is composed of terms and accompanying definitions that address the disciplines of: telephony, NS/EP (National Security/Emergency Preparedness), NII (National Information Infrastructure), spectrum sharing, radar, radio communications (including HF ALE radio), television (including UHF, VHF, cable TV, and HDTV), facsimile, Â·networks (e.g., intelligent networks, open network architecture, ISDN, broadband ISDN, and network management), fiber optic communications, communications security, data processing, premises wiring, photonics, and telegraphy.
Computer, Telephony & Electronics Industry Glossary
Electronics
A glossary of over 300 terms related to electronics.
Electropedia: The World’s Online Electrotechnical Vocabulary
Electropedia (also known as the "IEV Online") is the world's most comprehensive online electrical and electronic terminology database containing more than 20 000 terms and definitions in English and French organized by subject area, with equivalent terms in various other languages…Electropedia is produced by the IEC, the world’s leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies – collectively known as “electrotechnology”. Electropedia contains all the terms and definitions in the International Electrotechnical Vocabulary or IEV which is published also as a set of publications in the IEC 60050 series that can be ordered separately from the IEC webstore.
Glossary for Industrial Robot Systems and Applications
OSHA Technical Manual
Glossary of Security Terms
SANS (SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security) Institute
Mobile Electronics Glossary of Terms and Definitions
Nanomedicine Glossary
Nanotechnology Glossary
Transistorized! Glossary
Online glossary to accompany the PBS show, Transistorized!