Electronics & Computer Engineering Technology: Encyclopedias

The development of electronic materials and particularly advances in semiconductor technology have played a central role in the electronics revolution by allowing the production of increasingly cheap and powerful computing equipment and advanced telecommunications devices. This Concise Encyclopedia, which incorporates relevant articles from the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering as well as newly commissioned articles, emphasizes the materials aspects of semiconductors and the technologies important in solid-state electronics. Growth of bulk crystals and epitaxial layers are discussed in the volume and coverage is included of defects and their effects on device behavior. Metallization and passivation issues are also covered. Over 100 alphabetically arranged articles, written by world experts in the field, are each intended to serve as the first source of information on a particular aspect of electronic materials. The volume is extensively illustrated with photographs, diagrams and tables. A bibliography is provided at the end of each article to guide the reader to recent literature. A comprehensive system of cross-references, a three-level subject index and an alphabetical list of articles are included to aid readers in the abstraction of information.

Topics range across all scientific disciplines including the life sciences, earth and atmospheric sciences, physical sciences, medicine, and mathematics, as well as many areas of engineering and technology.

Over 1,400 articles, contained in 24 volumes (the 24th is the index volume), provide comprehensive coverage, bringing together core knowledge as well as the latest advances in semiconductors, photonics, computers, communications, networks, and power. Intended for a broad audience of engineers, designers, managers, and research personnel from industry and from academia, the articles do not preseme a detailed background. Some are a few pages long (e.g. , while others are 20 to 30 pages in length (e.g. . They can serve as overviews for the novice, reviews for the initiated, or as starting points for those who will do further research (each contains a thorough bibliography). The print version is to be complemented by an online version that reportedly will have the enhancements of hyperlinks, programs, animation, and color illustrations. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

The Six-Volume Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering is designed as a compendium of theory, design methods, and applications as well as an examination of technologies and future trends. Each article includes an overview of each subject, followed by in-depth descriptions of important theory, technology developments, and applications. Each article is written for both non-specialists who require an overview of a subject and specialists who need in-depth information. All articles are self-contained, complete with their own reference lists.

Adopting a strongly practical approach, Nanotechnologies for the Life Sciences is the first comprehensive source on the interface where materials science and life sciences meet on the nanoscale. The only reference work of this magnitude, it provides a broad, yet in-depth perspective of the numerous facets of this fascinating field.

With around 100 expert articles in 5 volumes, The Optics Encyclopedia is a rapid reference for skilled professionals, while newcomers from physics and engineering will appreciate its readily comprehensible style and structure.