Images in the Health Sciences: Sources for CC Licensed Images

David Lee Bassett (1913-1966) was awarded his MD by Stanford University School of Medicine in 1939. He began teaching in the Department of Anatomy at Stanford University School of Medicine in 1939 and later also taught anatomy at the University of Washington in Seattle. In 1948 Bassett met William B. Gruber, inventor of the Viewmaster system of stereoscopic imagery. Bassett and Gruber collaborated on a seventeen-year project of creating three-dimensional photographic images of human anatomy using innovations in dissection pioneered by Dr. Bassett. Three artists developed detailed line drawings based on the photographs: Ruth Ogren, Harriet O’Neill, and Lorene Segal. 1,547 photographic images and accompanying drawings were compiled into a 24-volume Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy, completed in 1962. The images in this collection are derived from the Atlas project.

Browse health and medicine image galleries, including the human eye, the human muscle system, the human reproductive system, prenatal development, the human nervous system, the leg, the human body, and human beings.

The site's watermarked images can be used for education, teaching, and other purposes, but uses must abide by the site's image use policy. Non-watermarked images are copyright protected. See the site for licensing information.

Online library of photos that depict therapists and patients from diverse backgrounds performing physiotherapy skills and engaging in healthcare-related activities.

Offers a unique set of digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information.

From the University of Utah, this site contains over 22,000 digital materials for educational use. Items are licensed under CC BY-NC-SA. Be sure to search only the HEAL collection—other collections are copyright protected.

Free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. They are organized, reviewed, approved, and curated free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution - including distribution of handouts and syllabi. For anything other than personal use, you should respect the original contributor and contact them for additional permission requests.

The NEI provides an image gallery on Flickr. The images are licensed under varying CC licenses. Check the licensing for each individual image.

The NEI provides an image gallery on Flickr. The images are licensed under varying CC licenses. Check the licensing for each individual image.

The National Institutes of Health provides an image gallery on Flickr. The images are licensed under varying CC licenses. Check the licensing for each individual image.

This photo project by SELF Magazine and the American Academy of Pediatrics presents medically accurate vaccine images that are licensed CC-BY.

Images on this site are available under CC0, CC BY, or CC BY-NC licenses. Check individual images to determine what uses are allowed.