Images in the Health Sciences: Sources for Public Domain Images

Images in this collection are not copyrighted but credit should be given to the "Cogan Collection, NEI/NIH." See the image use information on the How To Use the Collection page.

This site includes both copyright protected and public domain images. See the Reuse Restrictions information for each image. See the Use of Images section of the site.

Free images and videos related to eye health and vision research from the National Eye Institute (NEI).

This image library from the National Institute of Mental Health contains public domain images. Images should not be used to imply the endorsement by NIMH. See suggested information on the site for providing credit of the images.

Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. The majority of still images in Digital Collections come from the Images from the History of Medicine collection, including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

Provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.

From the CDC, this site contains both public domain and copyright protected images. See the Copyright Restrictions information for each image. See the What regulations govern the use of images in the PHIL? section of the FAQs portion of the site.

See the "Sources With Public Domain and Copyrighted Images" box (linked) on the "Other Sources for © Protected Images" tab of this guide. Some sites have a combination of public domain, Creative Commons licensed, or copyright protected images available. Check the terms and conditions for each image of any collection.

Census Bureau collection formats include audio, video, mobile apps, images, and publications.

Provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver.