Research Guides: Images in the Health Sciences: Sources of © Protected Images

Library Licensing

Libraries licensing content from a publisher (rather than owning it outright) is becoming more common. Different types of licenses allow for different kinds of use. Be sure to read the licensing terms associated with images from library collections.

Libraries and Licensing
This page from the American Libraries Association details some of the characteristics and challenges of licensing agreements.

Infographic Guide to Medicine

Part of AccessMedicine, this is a collection of over 600 one-page medical infographic summaries that span the following specialty areas:

Sources of © Protected Images

The databases listed below are resources to which the Madigan Library has a subscription. These sources can be used for educational teaching purposes at Penn College. For other uses (publishing, etc.), consult the terms and conditions of each resource and request permission as needed. Be sure to see the Privacy & Publicity Rights section of this guide.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health resource that provides information on a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides dental-specific pharmacology and clinical information, including interaction and allergy screening tools, patient medication management, lesion diagnosis and a wide-ranging collection of dental reference databases.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Includes treatment techniques, experimental research, etc.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

The sites listed here may have a combination of public domain, Creative Commons licensed, or copyright protected images available. Check the terms and conditions for a given image to determine how it may be used. Be sure to see the Privacy & Publicity Rights section of this guide.

National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
This site includes both copyright protected and public domain images. See the Reuse Restrictions information for each image. See the Use of Images section of the site.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
From the CDC, this site contains both public domain and copyright protected images. See the Copyright Restrictions information for each image. See the What regulations govern the use of images in the PHIL? section of the FAQs portion of the site.
Wellcome Images (on Flickr)
This site includes both copyright protected and public domain images. See the Reuse Restrictions information for each image.

The sites listed here indicate copyright protection in their terms, by other information provided on the site, or because no copyright information is provided. Be sure to follow all the terms and conditions and seek permission as needed when using images from these sights. Be sure to see the Privacy & Publicity Rights section of this guide.

Animation Lab at the University of Utah School of Medicine
Creates information-rich and visually compelling animations that capture current hypotheses on diverse molecular and cellular processes.
AIDS Imaging
Sicily Region - USL 6 Company in Palermo, Casa del Sole, Department of Infectious Diseases, Palermo, Italy
Anatomia Collection, 1522-1867: Anatomical Plates from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
Features approximately 4,500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
Anatomy: The Foundation of Medicine From Aristotle to Early Twentieth Century Wall Charts
Starting with Aristotle and continuing with such greats as Hippocrates, Galen, Leonardo da Vinci, Vesalius, and Albinus, this online exhibit briefly traces the history of anatomical study and drawing. The essay relates the importance of numerous technical and artistic advancements as well as a cultural climate favorable to human dissection. The exhibit culminates in images from three different series of wall charts which are housed in the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library at the University of Virginia.
Clinical Skin Disease Images
From the Department of Dermatology, Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa
Color Histology Images
Color (8-bit) GIF files of light microscopic images are archived according to tissue type and organ systems. The majority of these are stained with hematoxylin and eosin but in several cases more specialized stains are employed. From the Department of Biological Sciences, University of Delaware.
Dermatologic Disease Database
From the American Osteopathic College of Dermatology.
Dermatology Image Bank
John L. Bezzant, M.D., University of Utah
DermIS.net
Offers image atlases complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports and additional information on almost all skin diseases.
DermNet NZ
Watermarked images are free for use for education, teaching and other purposes, providing image license is followed.
Digital Anatomist: Interactive Brain Atlas
JW Sundsten, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
e-Anatomy
Interactive atlas of human anatomy with over 40 different modules covering the full body.
Ear, Nose, & Throat - USA
Contains information on allergy, surgery, smoking, cancer, hearing aids, tinnitus (ear ringing), cholesteatomas, ear and larynx (voice box) photographs and videos.
ECG Image Index
Many of the ECG rhythm strips come from the collection of the late Dr. Alan Lindsay, master teacher of electrocardiography. Most of the 12- and 6-lead ECGs were recorded at LDS Hospital in Salt Lake City, Utah. Marquette Electronics has also given permission to use ECG rhythms and diagrams from their educational posters. Each of the ECGs has an interpretation and many have additional explanations that help explain the diagnosis.
ECG Library
Collection of realistic looking recordings which will help improve your ECG skills.
Electronic Textbook of Dermatology
From the Internet Dermatology Society.
Global Skin Atlas
Images may be freely used for self education and for teaching purposes but may not be used in any other medium without permission from the editors.
Histology Study Guide
David King, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL
Human Body Explorer
Contains hundreds of interactive anatomy pictures and descriptions of thousands of objects in the body.
The Image Bank
Contains more than 150 clinical, intraoperative and radiologic Images related to pediatric surgery from the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.
Instant Anatomy
Online aid for learning human anatomy created by Dr. Robert Whitaker, retired paediatric urological surgeon that includes podcasts, iPhone & android apps, lectures, questions, and video podcasts.
The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Educational resource containing over 2,700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.
LearningRadiology
Originally intended to replace the paper handout notes that accompanied lectures for the residents and medical students at Einstein Medical Center, this site now contains over 5,000 pages of content, including cases, images, flashcards, and podcasts.
Neuroanatomy Interactive Syllabus
JW Sundsten and KA Mulligan, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
Oral Histology Image Index
Michael Finkelstein, University of Iowa College of Dentistry, Iowa City, IA
VOXEL-MAN Gallery
Shows selected highlights of the VOXEL-MAN project from more than three decades of research and development in medical image analysis, segmentation, 3D rendering, virtual body models, anatomy atlases, medical training, haptics, and surgery simulation.
VUS Oral Pathology Review Images
Dr. Dennis Page of the Department of Oral Pathology (now Oral Diagnostic Sciences) of the VCU School of Dentistry developed this collection of images to help students learn about the most common abnormalities of the oral cavity. The collection includes images of soft tissue abnormalities and radiographic abnormalities of the oral cavity. The images may be searched by type of abnormality, description, or Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). This collection is of mixed copyright status and includes items that are in copyright as well as items that are in copyright, non-commercial use permitted. See individual items for item-specific copyright information.
WebPathology
Collection of surgical pathology images.
Whole Brain Atlas
Keith A. Johnson, M.D. & J. Alex Becker, M.D., Harvard Medical School
Zygote Body
3D anatomy online visualizer.