Internal Medicine: Diagnosis (Dx)

Includes authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment.

Key diagnostic and treatment features of more than 930 disorders.

Provides quick access to answers on 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, and laboratory tests.

Description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart.

Guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. Includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis.

Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing.

Concise monographs are arranged alphabetically and include vital information such as the type of test, alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, contraindications, potential complications, interfering factors, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test.

Provides comprehensive, practical information on common and uncommon disease states and their diagnosis by laboratory test.

Describes how to obtain a complete history and perform a thorough physical examination.

Uses a practical, clinically oriented approach to help you master the differential diagnosis of common symptoms.

Shows step-by-step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation.

Resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis.

Key diagnostic and treatment features of more than 930 disorders.

Teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints.