Research Guides: Nursing: Terminology

Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Nursing Resources for Standards and Interoperability
Explains the role of SNOMED CT and LOINC in implementing Meaningful Use in the United States, how to find Concept Unique Identifiers (CUIs) and extract synonymy from the Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) Metathesaurus between SNOMED CT and other nursing terminologies such as CCC, ICNP, NANDA-I, NIC, NOC, The Omaha System, and PNDS, and includes additional resources for nursing clinical documentation purposes.
Unified Medical Language System® (UMLS®)
Set of files and software that brings together many health and biomedical vocabularies and standards to enable interoperability between computer systems. You can use the UMLS to enhance or develop applications, such as electronic health records, classification tools, dictionaries and language translators.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions, 11e by Mosby
Call Number: REF R121 .M67 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. Includes a color atlas of the human body and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 4e by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 4th ed. by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick
Call Number: REF RT81.5 .E53 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice.