Research Guides: Nutrition: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, 3e by Carolyn D. Berdanier
Call Number: REF QP141 .B523 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Includes medical terms, food science terms, metabolic terms, physiologic terms, drug terms, biotechnology terms and nutrition terms.

Nutritional Disorders
Covers topics including mineral deficiency and toxicity, nutritional support, obesity and the metabolic syndrome, undernutrition, and vitamin deficiency, dependency, and toxicity.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, 2nd ed. by Caballero, Benjamin
Call Number: REF QP141 .E526 2005 v. 1-4
Publication Date: 2005
Covers the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition.
The Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals, and Supplements, 2nd ed. by Tova Navarra
Call Number: REF QP771 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Provides a look at the nutrients that foods and supplements offer and how they work with the body and offers an A-Z directory on over 900 vitamins, minerals, and supplements.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets, 3e by Kristin Key (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Entries include special and popular diets, dietary treatments, nutrition basics, and health-related concerns. Diet entries focus on the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, key figures that influenced its practice, any established benefits, risks and precautions, and relevant research. Information is provided across all age groups—from infants to the elderly.