Research Guides: Orthopedics &amp; Sports Medicine: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Case Files: Orthopaedic Surgery by Eugene C. Toy; Andrew J. Rosenbaum; Timothy Roberts; Joshua S. Dines
Publication Date: 2013
Provides 45 real-life cases that illustrate concepts critical to managing common musculoskeletal injuries and conditions. Each case includes a concise and accurate patient presentation, key exam findings, and clear radiologic images where applicable.

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Sports Injuries
Links to information on specific sports injuries, clinical research, and related health topics from MedlinePlus.
Sports Injuries
Health information section from the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Conditions and Treatments
Partial listing of sports injuries commonly treated at the Sports Medicine Clinic at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Orthopaedics & Trauma
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.
Centre for Evidence-Based Orthopaedics
The Centre for Evidence-Based Orthopaedics (CEO) was established in 2012 with the vision of improving the lives of patients with musculoskeletal injuries and disorders and being world leaders in orthopaedic surgery research. CEO will continue to strive to improve the lives of persons with orthopaedic injuries, conditions, and disorders around the world by identifying and disseminating novel therapies through the conduct of high quality, collaborative research initiatives.