Research Guides: Otorhinolaryngology: Databases

Madigan Library	7:30am – 12:00am
Reference Services	9:00am – 5:00pm 6:00pm – 9:00pm

Point-of-Care

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. Tipasa is incorporated into many of our databases. Look for the button or words Request It from Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is free of charge for students.

Medical Literature

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Best Bet
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
Best Bet
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
SAGE Journals
Best Bet
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
APA PsycInfo ®
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work.
Career & Technical Education Database
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Consumer Health Database
- This link opens in a new window
Includes journal and magazine articles covering a range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Coronavirus Research Database
- This link opens in a new window
Open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv.
Gale Health and Wellness
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health resource that provides information on a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Includes treatment techniques, experimental research, etc.
Gale OneFile: Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines that aid in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.
Health & Medical Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, and surgery, as well as consumer health and health administration.
MEDLINE®
- This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Psychology Database
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PTSDpubs
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. Provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Public Health Database
- This link opens in a new window
Contains core public health literature covering a variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Key subjects include nutrition and dietetics, physical fitness and hygiene, population studies, social services and welfare, etc.