Research Guides: Polymer Engineering Technology: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Films On Demand: Technical & Trade This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos designed for technical and trade education in agriculture, automotive technology, building & technical trades, engineering technology, information technology, technical careers, and technical communication.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.
eBook Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
Publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for plastics is TP. More specifically, TP is broken down as follows:

TP1-1185 Chemical technology
TP155-156 Chemical engineering
TP200-248 Chemicals: Manufacture, use, etc.
TP248.13-248.65 Biotechnology
TP1080-1185 Polymers and polymer manufacture
- TP1140 Technical chemistry of plastics (Analysis)
- TP1150-1175 Technical processes (molding, csting, machining, welding, joining, extrusion, mixing, recycling, etc.)
- TP1177-1177.5 Reinforced plastics
- TP1180 .A-Z Special plastics (resins, bakelite, cellophane, epoxy, furans, lucite, plexiglas, polyesters, styrene, thermoplastics, vinyl, etc.)
- TP1183 .A-Z Special forms (bars, films, foamed, laminated, microcrystalline, powders)
- TP1185 .A-Z Special products (containers, eye protectors, furniture, helmets, machine parts, pipe, tanks, tiles, etc.)

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

HD Economic History and Conditions

HD9650-9660 Chemical industries
- HD9660 .A-Z Special products, A-Z
  - HD9660 .P46-P464 Plasticizers
  - HD9660 .R4-R44 Resins
- HD9661-9662 Plastics
  - HD9661 General works
  - HD9662 .A-Z Special products (bottles, containers, films, footwear, pipes, foams, etc.)

QD Chemistry

QD139 .P6 Analytical chemistry--Technical analysis--Polymers
QD380-388 Polymers. Macromolecules (chemical and physical properties of polymers)
- QD381.9 .A-Z Special topics (deterioration, molecular weights, rheology, separation, solubility, structure, thermal properties, etc.)
- QD382 .A-Z Special types (biomimetic, conductors, crystalline, emulsion, fluorescent, heat resistant, oligomers, etc.)
- QD383 .A-Z Special substances (acrylic, amine, epoxy, silicon, vinyl, etc.)
QD549.2 .P64 Polymer colloids
QD923 Liquid crystals, including polymer liquid crystals

TA Engineering (General). Civil Engineering (General)

TA455 .P5 Materials of engineering and construction--Plastics
TA455 .P55 Materials of engineering and construction--Reinforced plastics