Research Guides: Psychiatry & Mental Health: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
You will need to have a MyAccess profile to use the files. Click on the link to MyAccess on the main page and follow directions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Developmental, Psychosocial & Learning Problems
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.
Mental Health
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.

Clinical Practice Guidelines of the American Psychiatric Association
Provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.
Mental Health
Office on Women's Health
Mental Health
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
MentalHealth.gov
One-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information from the CDC, MedlinePlus and the NIH, NIMH, SAMHSA, and Youth.gov.
Mental Health and Behavior
Health topic guide from the National Library of Medicine.
National Center for PTSD
Advances the clinical care and social welfare of America's Veterans and others who have experienced trauma, or who suffer from PTSD, through research, education, and training in the science, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders.
National Institute of Mental Health
Largest scientific organization in the world dedicated to research focused on the understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders and the promotion of mental health.
Psychiatric Disorders
Merck Manual Professional Version

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. Provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Case Files: Psychiatry, 6e by Eugene C. Toy; Debra L. Klamen
Publication Date: 2020
Provides 60 cases featuring realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning.

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals
General resource guide for finding information on drugs and pharmaceuticals.

Psychiatric Drug Treatment, 7e by Benjamin J. Sadock; Virginia A. Sadock; Norman Sussman
Call Number: RC483 .K36 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Includes many new FDA-approved drugs, as well as updated information about drug selection and use that reflects both research data and clinical experience. Includes separate, updated chapters on nutritional supplements and herb preparations, drugs used in the treatment of obesity, and medication-induced movement disorders. Reflects DSM-5 classification guidelines throughout.