Research Guides: WEL301 Industrial Processes: Finding Scholarly Articles

What is a "scholarly" article?

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Guide to Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles

Work from Anywhere!

The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

Do we own it?

Journal Locator
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to request articles that we don't have. This service is free of charge for students.

Welding Articles are Found In...

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Simplifies browsing through Gale's publications and documents in one platform.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Assembly Magazine by BNP Media
ASSEMBLY covers the processes, technologies and strategies for joining discrete parts into finished products. We publish articles on screwdriving, riveting, adhesive bonding, welding and other methods for assembling parts. We write about robots, conveyors, vision systems and other technologies for automated assembly, as well as workstations, power tools and other equipment for manual production. We don’t run articles on processes for making parts, such as machining, stamping and molding.
Connect by The Welding Institute
TWI's magazine to keep you informed on the latest news and technologies.
Fabricating & Metalworking Magazine by Alliance Communications, Inc.
Fabricating & Metalworking is an industrial trade publication that provides rich technical content and targeted advertising through print, online, audio, video and other multimedia outlets that serve a diverse, BPA-qualified audience of small-to-medium contract fabricators, job shops and higher volume metal manufacturers that compete in markets ranging from aerospace, automotive and medical to energy, construction and mining. We are the only monthly trade publication in the world that serves readers in every issue by combining easy-to-read editorial about industry news and trends with detailed technical information on practical solutions for real-world applications in metal forming, welding, metal cutting, tooling and workholding, measurement and inspection, and safety.
The Fabricator by the Fabricators & Manufacturers Association
Disseminates objective information about modern metal forming and fabricating techniques, machinery, tooling, and management concepts. Feature articles include how-to, case studies, and trends & technologies content.
Laser Focus World by Endeavor Business Media, LLC
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive global coverage of optoelectronic technologies, applications, and markets.
The WELDER by FMA Communications, Inc.
The WELDER, formerly known as Practical Welding Today, is a showcase of the real people who make the products we use and work with every day. This magazine has served the welding community in North America well for more than 20 years.
Welding International - Translations from the World's Welding Press by Taylor & Francis
Welding International is a well-established and widely respected journal that provides English translations of complete articles selected from major international welding journals. The articles cover research techniques, equipment and process developments, applications and material.
Welding Journal by American Welding Society
- This link opens in a new window
Each month the WELDING JOURNAL delivers news of the welding and metal fabricating industry. Stay informed on the latest products, trends, technology and events via in-depth articles, full-color photos and illustrations, and timely, cost-saving advice. Also featured are articles and supplements on related activities, such as testing and inspection, maintenance and repair, design, training, personal safety and brazing and soldering.

MADCAD: American Welding Society This link opens in a new window
Codes and standards of the American Welding Society. Up to 50 users simultaneously.
MADCAD This link opens in a new window
Building codes and knowledge-based solutions with guidelines to meet codes. Cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA, as well as state and local codes.