Articles on architecture and design, the history of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. American and international journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
This link opens in a new windowCovers human impact to the environment. Subjects include environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Images and media from the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. All content is rights-cleared for education and research.
Open access images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.
This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.
Building codes and knowledge-based solutions with guidelines to meet codes. Cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA, as well as state and local codes.
This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
Titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
Here are some tips for getting the most out of ProQuest:
Search 16 ProQuest science and technology databases at once.
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
This link opens in a new windowSimplifies browsing through Gale's publications and documents in one platform.
This link opens in a new windowA legal research database including the national law library, cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and bar publications. Includes all 50 state courts, statutes, administrative regulations codes & orders, court rules & instructions, and all state constitutions.
This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.
Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.
Some valuable websites for research. Other helpful links are found in your course syllabus.
The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.
Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.
