Abuse & Violence: Home

Aggression and Violent Behavior, A Review Journal is a multidisciplinary journal that publishes substantive and integrative reviews, as well as summary reports of innovative ongoing clinical research programs on a wide range of topics germane to the field of aggression and violent behavior. Papers encompass a large variety of issues, populations, and domains, including homicide (serial, spree, and mass murder: sexual homicide), sexual deviance and assault (rape, serial rape, child molestation, paraphilias), child and youth violence (firesetting, gang violence, juvenile sexual offending), family violence (child physical and sexual abuse, child neglect, incest, spouse and elder abuse), genetic predispositions, and the physiological basis of aggression.Manuscripts that articulate disparate orientations will be welcomed, given that this journal will be cross-disciplinary and cross-theoretical. Indeed, papers will emanate from numerous disciplines, psychology, psychiatry, criminology, criminal justice, law, sociology, anthropology, genetics, social work, ethology, and physiology.Papers describing the study of aggression in normal, criminal, and psychopathological populations are acceptable. Reviews of analog investigations of aggression and animal models will be considered if the contribution is likely to lead to significant movement in the field. The emphasis, however, will be on innovativeness of presentation and clarity of thinking.

Publishes articles on child welfare, health, humanitarian aid, justice, mental health, public health and social service systems.

Child Abuse Review provides a forum for all professionals working in the field of child protection, giving them access to the latest research findings, practice developments, training initiatives and policy issues. The Journal's remit includes all forms of maltreatment, whether they occur inside or outside the family environment. Papers are written in a style appropriate for a multidisciplinary audience and those from outside Britain are welcomed.

Child Maltreatment (CM), published quarterly, is the official journal of APSAC, the nation's largest interdisciplinary child maltreatment professional organization. The object of CM is to foster professional excellence in the field of child abuse and neglect by reporting current and at-issue scientific information and technical innovations in a form immediately useful to practitioners and researchers from mental health, child protection, law, law enforcement, medicine, nursing, and allied disciplines. Full text in Sage Premier database 1996-present.

Links the latest findings in child welfare and related research with the best practice, policy, and program development into one innovative resource equally indispensable to child welfare and associated professionals.

Information on vital issues surrounding aggression, maltreatment, and trauma. Learn how to prevent these behaviors, how to help victims, and how to intervene in abusive situations using the latest research in these areas.

Journal of Child and Family Studies is the international forum for topical issues pertaining to the mental well-being of children adolescents and their families. The journal translates the latest research developments into practical applications for clinicians and healthcare practitioners by addressing all facets of emotional disorders including issues associated with identification diagnosis treatment rehabilitation and prevention. Original papers detail basic and applied research program evaluation service delivery and policy issues on emotional or behavioral disorders child abuse and neglect respite care foster care mental health care financing homelessness family stress AIDS and substance abuse among other timely topics. Full text ProQuest 1997-present with 1 year embargo.

The Journal of Child Sexual Abuse is interdisciplinary and interfaces among researchers, academicians, attorneys, clinicians, and practitioners. The journal advocates for increased networking in the sexual abuse field, greater dissemination of information and research, a higher priority for this international epidemic, and development of effective assessment, intervention, and prevention programs. Divided into sections to provide clear information, the journal covers research issues, clinical issues, legal issues, prevention programs, case studies, and brief reports, focusing on three subject groups - child and adolescent victims of sexual abuse or incest, adult survivors of childhood sexual abuse or incest, and sexual abuse or incest offenders. Research, treatment approaches and techniques, prevention, intervention, and other programs concerning any of these groups are general categories of the published articles and brief reports. The articles emphasize applying research, treatment, and interventions to practical situations so the importance of the results will be clear. The Journal of Child Sexual Abuse covers a wide array of important topics, including: effectiveness of treatment and interview techniques, use of assessment methods and self-report measures, including plethysmography for offenders, evaluation of sexual abuse allegations, forensic issues and "expert testimony" characteristics and identification of male and female offenders, survivors, and victims, long-term effects of sexual abuse, prevention programs and their effectiveness, intrafamily versus extrafamily abuse, ritualized abuse, PTSD, dissociative and multiple personality disorders related to sexual abuse, chemical dependency and eating disorders related to sexual abuse, ethnic and multicultural issues, the backlash movement and its effects on clinicians, effectiveness of legal, criminal justice, medical, social, and clinical intervention programs. Additional topics include international policy and decisionmaking with respect to sexual abuse, school and family interventions, theoretical models and their applications, psychopharmacology, ethical issues, training issues, mandatory reporting, and legal issues. Full text in CINAHL Complete database from 2000 to present with 18 month embargo.

The interdisciplinary Journal of Emotional Abuse provides a forum for interaction among practitioners, policymakers, and researchers in mental health, social services, law, child development, social and industrial systems, education, child protection, religion, medicine, nursing, and business. Since emotional abuse is only now emerging as a field of concern, part of the function of this journal will be to facilitate a growing understanding in the field. The journal seeks, in each issue, to provide coverage across multiple areas of maltreatment (i.e., in different settings or for different age groups). As an interdisciplinary journal, JEA will provide professionals from many fields with up-to-date, readily readable information regarding definitions, theories, research, interventions, and policies concerning emotional abuse as it evolves.

Journal of Family Violence is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of information on clinical and investigative efforts concerning all forms of family violence and its precursors including spouse-battering child abuse sexual abuse of children incest abuse of the elderly marital rape domestic homicide the alcoholic marriage and general family conflict. The journal publishes clinical and research reports from a broad range of disciplines: clinical and counseling psychology sociology psychiatry public health criminology law marital counseling and social work. Papers focus on investigations utilizing group comparisons and on single-case experimental strategies. Also included are case studies of special clinical relevance or that describe innovative evaluation and intervention techniques reviews and theoretical discussions that contribute substantially to our understanding of family violence. Full text in CINAHL Complete database from 2003 to present with a one year embargo.

Journal of Interpersonal Violence (JIV), published monthly, is devoted to the study and treatment of victims and perpetrators of interpersonal violence, addressing the causes, effects, treatment, and prevention of all types of violence. It provides a forum of discussion for the concerns and activities of professionals and researchers working in domestic violence, child sexual abuse, rape and sexual assault, physical child abuse, and violent crime. Full text in Sage Premier database from 1999 to present.

From playground bullying to mass murder, the Journal of School Violence brings you the latest information on this difficult issue. This innovative journal tracks the causes, consequences, and costs of aggressive or violent behavior in children from kindergarten through twelfth grade. It presents up-to-date research, practice, and theory with a focus on prevention and intervention. The Journal of School Violence offers tested information on such urgent matters as threat assessment, hostage situations, stalking behavior, and teacher safety. For longer-range strategic planning, it features articles on social policy, staff training, and international and cross-cultural studies. This peer-reviewed journal helps administrators and policymakers plan effectively to ensure school security by considering issues of administration, assessment, and funding. Drawing on the expertise of eminent researchers and educational leaders worldwide, the Journal of School Violence features information derived from a variety of academic disciplines, including psychology, sociology, criminology, theology, education, political science, and the arts (including music and movies). Ongoing columns will include Internet resources and Web site reviews. The Journal of School Violence encompasses a wide variety of themes related to aggressive behavior, including: gender issues, including girl gangs and the role of masculinity in criminal behavior; preadolescent violence; successful interventions, including behavioral approaches and peer counseling; aftermath of violence; emotional violence, trauma, and abuse; self-esteem and violence; sexuality and violence.

The Journal of Sexual Aggression provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research findings and the development of theory, policy and practice regarding sexual aggression in all its forms. The scope of the Journal extends to the expression of sexual aggression across childhood and adulthood, with regard to abusers, victims and survivors, irrespective of gender, culture and sexual preference.

Residential Treatment for Children & Youth provides research and case studies to help you plan and assess specialized programs for treatment of substance abuse, dual diagnosis, severe emotional disturbance, and sexual offenders, as well as for children who have suffered maltreatment and abuse. In-depth clinical papers focus on particular models of milieu or individual treatment, including the psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral, behavioral, psychoeducational, peer-culture, and other approaches. Moreover, practical articles address the specific management and administrative issues that beset residential care homes. Case studies suggest new ways to manage agency change and handle clinical paradigm shifts, as well as establish community networks, undertake innovative funding efforts, and maintain necessary staff stability. Residential Treatment for Children & Youth addresses innovative treatment issues related to: changes in public policy as they relate to the field of residential treatment; adapting programs to deal with shifting funding sources; descriptions of special efforts to deliver staff training and develop institutional staff stability; detailed or case-oriented studies of special education and vocational curriculums provided for residential students; psychodiagnostic assessment, outcome evaluation, and long-term follow-up in residential care.

Sexual Abuse: A Journal of Research and Treatment provides a forum for the latest original research and scholarly reviews on both clinical and theoretical aspects of sexual abuse. Unlike other publications that present a mix of articles on sexual abuse and human sexuality in general, Sexual Abuse is the only one to focus exclusively on this field, thoroughly investigating its etiology, consequences, prevention, treatment and management strategies. The in-depth studies provide essential data for those working in both clinical and academic environments, including psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and therapists/counselors, as well as corrections officers and allied professionals in children's services. Full text in Sage Premier database from 1999 to present.

Trauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence. TVA is practitioner oriented, dedicated to professionals and advanced students in clinical training who work with any form of trauma, abuse, and violence, and is intended to compile knowledge that clearly affects practice, policy, and research. Full text in Sage Premier database from 2000 to present.

Violence Against Women (VAW) peer-reviewed and published monthly, is an international, interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the publication of research and information on all aspects of the problem of violence against women. VAW assumes a broad definition of violence; topics to be covered include, but are not limited to, domestic violence, sexual assault, incest, sexual harassment, female infantcide, female circumcision, and female sexual slavery. Full text in Sage Premier database from 1999 to present.

Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice (YVJJ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, serves a diverse audience of academics and practitioners in juvenile justice and related fields with a resource for publishing current empirical research, discussing theoretical issues, and reviewing promising interventions and programs in the areas of youth violence, juvenile justice, and school safety. Articles address the fields of juvenile justice and youth and school violence prevention. Full text in Sage Premiere database from 2003 to present.