Abuse & Violence: Guides and Handbooks

Examines the issues surrounding child abuse and provides an overview of the topic.

The authors in this anthology examine the nature and scope of child abuse, including child abuse in the Catholic Church. They also explore possible causes and debate what policies will help reduce child abuse.

Reprints documents and excerpts from publications issued by U.S. government agencies and non-profit organizations on the neglect and physical, emotional, and sexual abuse of children and adolescents. The 68 chapters describe the actions that constitute different types of maltreatment, identify the risk indicators and warning signs of sexually victimized youth, and explain the help available for children experiencing abuse. Previously published in 2004, the second edition adds nine chapters on positive parenting, such as anger management, good sportsmanship, and bullying. Annotation c2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

McCue (women's studies, Portland State U., Oregon) has been working with women, children, and families in various capacities since 1972. She offers a text providing current knowledge about domestic violence: what it is, its causes, the extent of the problem, who is affected, how people are affected, available services, and some possible solutions. ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Helping children who have been sexually abused and their families recover is difficult and often complicated by the same factors that caused the abuse in the first place. This guide provides information on assessment, management, prevention and policy to professionals and families. It starts with the history of abuse from early civilization to recently, then defines what child and adolescent sexual abuse really is, you prevalent it is and associated risk and protection factors, theoretical explanations and ethnic assumptions behind family dysfunction that leads to abuse, intrafamilial abuse, abuse committed outside the family, current empirical assessment methods, treatment for the sexually abused child and adolescent, treatment for non-offending caregivers, prevention and policy and practice implications. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

This book highlights the first decades of serious research in the field of rape victimology. The studies have provided some initial insights to the victim, the aggressor, and the nature and extent of the crime of rape and sexual assault within a cultural context. This book describes historical background of the anti-rape movement, information on survivors' needs and information on the impact of rape. It provides an overview of studies on the incidence of violence, family violence, causal studies looking at the aggressor, the social situation in which violence occurs and the norms and values which sanction the violence. It discusses the sexual abuse of children, child pornography, handicap survivors, forced sex in marriage, and murder.

This is the second volume of research on rape and sexual assault. It addresses a wide range of topical issues focusing on two major areas: victim populations and the social context of rape. This book provides a basis for new insights into both the effect of rape on its victims and the social constructs that support and promote rape in our culture.

The latest findings on the causes and effects of rape and sexual assault and the treatment of victims. Coverage includes the anti-rape movement, the research efforts of the National Center for the Prevention and Control of Rape, the response of the victim and the offender, and prevention.

For high school and college students, scholars, and general readers, Neumann provides an introduction to contemporary issues related to sexual crime that includes causes and definitions, legal and cultural attitudes throughout history, common myths, categories, types of rapists, victims and attackers, and issues such as date rape, crimes involving male victims, rape in prison, female perpetrators, law enforcement, the judicial and correctional systems, and international perspectives and issues. Biographical sketches of activists, scholars, policy makers, and other figures, a directory of organizations, statistics and data, and an annotated list of sources are included. Annotation ©2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR