Research Guides: Human Services: Statistics

Online Statistical Resources

American Community Survey
Source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
ICPSR
Maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPUMS USA
Collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Contains historical census reports from 1790 forward.
State and County QuickFacts
Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Places and county subdivisions with populations of 5,000 or more are also included.
State Data Center Clearinghouse
Census State Data Centers are statistical agencies, state demographers, and data-providing organizations from 56 states and U.S. territories that partner with Census Bureau to provide expert analysis, training, and extension of Census products and data in each respective state.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Books in the Library Collection

County and City Data Book, 14e by United States. Bureau of the Census.
Call Number: REF HA202 .A36 2007 14th ed.
Publication Date: 2007
Covers the following areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use. The library also has the 2000, 1983, and 1972 editions.
Green Book by The House Ways and Means Committee
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present by Carter, Susan B.
Call Number: REF HA202 .H57 2006 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2006
Provides a compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.
A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends, 2e by Becker, Patricia C.
Publication Date: 2002
Chapters include statistical tables and pie charts, in addition to some text explaining some of the characteristics and trends of the data presented. Data is presented on population characteristics; households and families; social conditions; labor force and job characteristics; housing; income, wealth, and poverty; education; crime and criminal justice; leisure, volunteerism, and religion; voting; and government.