Human Services: Home

Australian Social Work is an international peer-reviewed journal reflecting current thinking and trends in Social Work. The Journal promotes the development of practice, policy and education, and publishes original research, theoretical papers and critical reviews that build on existing knowledge. The Journal also publishes reviews of relevant professional literature, commentary and analysis of social policies and encourages debate in the form of reader commentary on articles.

NEW IN 2012! Counseling and Values promotes theory, research, and intellectual inquiry into the spiritual, ethical, religious, and values domains of counseling.

NEW IN 2012! Counselor Education and Supervision (CES) publishes articles on research, theory development, and program applications with essential information for the preparation and supervision of counselors in various settings.

Ethics and Social Welfare publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the ethical issues surrounding social welfare practice and policy. It has a particular focus on social work (including practice with individuals, families and small groups), social care, youth and community work and related professions.

The European Journal of Social Work provides a forum for the social professions in all parts of Europe and beyond. It analyses and promotes European and international developments in social work, social policy, social service institutions, and strategies for social change by publishing refereed papers on contemporary key issues. Contributions include theoretical debates, empirical studies, research notes, country perspectives, and reviews. It maintains an interdisciplinary perspective which recognises positively the diversity of cultural and conceptual traditions in which the social professions of Europe are grounded. In particular it examines emerging European paradigms in methodology and comparative analysis.

International Social Work is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services, the functions of social work professionals and the education of social workers.

The Journal for Specialists in Group Work is directed toward group work practitioners with a focus on group work theory, interventions, training, current issues, and research. The group process is a powerful method for development and change in the individual, the organization, and the community.

Journal of Comparative Social Welfare is a refereed international forum designed to promote interdisciplinary inquiry and research. It encompasses all scientific-academic fields dealing with social welfare including social work, social policy, social development and planning.

The journal contains articles that inform counseling practice with diverse client populations in a variety of settings and that address issues related to counselor education and supervision, as represented by the membership of the American Counseling Association (ACA). These articles have broad interest for a readership composed mostly of counselors and other mental health professionals who work in private practice, schools, colleges, community agencies, hospitals, and government. This journal is an appropriate outlet for articles that (a) critically integrate published research, (b) examine current professional and scientific issues, (c) report research that has particular relevance to professional counselors, (d) report new techniques or innovative programs and practices, and (e) examine ACA as an organization.

The Journal of Counseling Psychology® publishes empirical research in the areas of counseling activities (including assessment, interventions, consultation, supervision, training, prevention, and psychological education), career development and vocational psychology, diversity and underrepresented populations in relation to counseling activities, the development of new measures to be used in counseling activities, and professional issues in counseling psychology.

The Journal of Humanistic Counseling (JHC) explores humanistic counseling and development and research and critical reviews emphasize innovative programs and practices to promote tolerance, nurture diversity, and uphold human rights.

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development (JMCD) is concerned with research, theory, and program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interests in all areas of counseling and human development.

The Journal of Social Work is an international peer reviewed forum for the publication, dissemination and debate of key ideas and research in social work. JSW publishes articles that promote, debate and analyse current themes and issues in social work theory, research, policy and practice

The Journal of Social Work Practice publishes high quality refereed articles devoted to the exploration and analysis of practice in social welfare and allied health professions from psychodynamic and systemic perspectives. This includes counselling, social care planning, education and training, research, institutional life, management and organisation or policy-making. Articles are also welcome that critically examine the psychodynamic tradition in the light of other theoretical orientations or explanatory systems. The Journal of Social Work Practice is committed to a policy of equal opportunities and actively strives to foster all forms of intercultural dialogue and debate.

This peer-reviewed, refereed journal explores the potentials of computer and telecommunications technologies in mental health, developmental disability, welfare, addictions, education, and other human services. The Journal of Technology in Human Services covers the full range of technological applications, including direct service techniques. It not only provides the necessary historical perspectives on the use of computers in the human service field, but it also presents articles that will improve your technology literacy and keep you abreast of state-of-the-art developments.

The articles in Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development (MEC) range from theoretical and other problems of the measurement specialist to those directed to the administrator, the counselor, or the personnel worker--in schools and colleges, public and private agencies, business, industry, and government. All articles clearly describe implications for the counseling field and for practitioners in assessment, measurement, and evaluation.

Practice provides a forum for the publication of research and knowledge from practice and the experiences of people using services, in a peer reviewed journal. The journal has a strong base in social work practice and seeks to promote a proactive, reflective and critical perspective.

Dedicated to improving practice and advancing knowledge in social work and social welfare. Its articles yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, and bring serious critical analysis to bear on problems in the profession. Major emphasis is placed on social policy and the solutions to serious human problems.

Social Work Education publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the theory and practice of social care and social work education at all levels. It presents a forum for international debate on important issues and provides an opportunity for the expression of new ideas and proposals on the structure and content of social care and social work education, training and development.

Social Work in Mental Health will publish quality articles on clinical practice, education, research, collaborative relationships, mental health policy, and the delivery of mental health care services. Under the editorship of Gary Rosenberg, PhD, and Andrew Weissman, PhD, two respected leaders in social work in the United States, the journal will feature special issues, volumes devoted to a single pertinent mental health theme, editorials on controversial themes in social work in mental health care, timely book reviews, and a "Brief Communication" section of short, cogently written communications that may be of clinical or research interest to the field. This scholarly, creative, and lively journal presents material valuable to social workers in all sectors of mental health care. It is devoted to social work theory, practice, and administration in a wide variety of mental health care settings. Social Work in Mental Health will also improve your knowledge and understanding of specific mental health care topics as you study the role of social work in areas such as: managed care; empirically based interventions; alcohol treatment; short term treatment models; depression; genetics; mentally ill chemical abusers; HIV/AIDS; schizophrenia; psychoeducation; women's mental health issues; clinical treatment innovations; violence; children's mental health problems; creative adolescent mental health programs.

Social Work Research publishes exemplary research to advance the development of knowledge and inform social work practice. Widely regarded as the outstanding journal in the field, it includes analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and diverse research studies that contribute to knowledge about social work issues and problems.

Content examines the difficult issues, challenges, and successes of social workers, while celebrating the profession's common bonds, including all of its distinct roles and varied work settings.