Research Guides: MGT301 Business Law I: Encyclopedias

What is an encyclopedia?

A subject-specific encyclopedia (or encyclopedic set) is a single (or multi-volume) reference work that provides background information on a more specialized discipline.

Legal Encyclopedias
For more information, see this guide produced by the Campbell University School of Law Library on what are legal encyclopedias, why are they useful, how to use them for research, and features of specific titles.

Print Encyclopedias

Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d by Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Company
Call Number: Compact shelving - 2nd floor - law reference
Concise text of civil and criminal substantive law, with emphasis on cases decided in the past 50 years, landmark cases, and federal cases arising out of Pennsylvania facts or applying state law. Includes discussion of relevant statutes, rules, regulations, and adopted Restatement provisions, plus official illustrations and comments contained in the Restatement. Covers family law, commercial law, and employment and labor relations. Contains Table of Statutes for easy reference.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, Entrepreneurship by Michael A. Hitt (Editor); R. Duane Ireland (Editor)
Call Number: REF HD30.15 .B455 2005 v. 3
Publication Date: 2006
Features 90 important entrepreneurship concepts written by 110 international contributors; charts the key concepts and frameworks of the field, covering: 'creative destruction'; competitive dynamics; real options; social capital; corporate entrepreneurship; risk management; franchising; succession planning; location effects; spinoffs; and product innovation.

American Jurisprudence 2d via Library Databases

With the "All Content" tab selected, click on "Secondary Sources"
Enter your search terms in the search box at the top of the page.
Click the orange "Search" button
Search results will display from all the secondary sources listed: American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, & Law Reviews
Note: You may click Black's Law Dictionary under Related Content in the right hand column to search for a dictionary definition

Click on "Select by Subject or Topic"
Under "Legal" click on "Legal Reference"
Enter a search strategy
Click on "Advanced Options"
Under "Source(s)," check the box next to "American Jurisprudence 2d" and uncheck all other boxes
Click the "Apply" button
Click the "Search" button
Note: You may click on "Browse" to limit your search of this resource to specific subject area(s)

Subject Guide

Helen Yoas

Email Me

Contact:

Madigan Library
LIB137
Hours: M-F 9:00am-5:00pm

570-320-2400 ext. 7920

Subjects: Accounting & Finance, Automotive, Aviation, Diesel & Power Generation, Forestry, Heavy Equipment, Landscape & Horticulture