Research Guides: MGT301 Business Law I: Dictionaries

What is a dictionary?

Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.

Online Dictionaries

The People's Law Dictionary
ALM
more...less...
From ALM, a leading provider of specialized business news and information, focused primarily on the legal and commercial real estate sectors.
Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions
Find plain-English definitions for legal terms by browsing Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary.

Print Dictionaries

Legal Terminology by Brown, S. Whittington
Call Number: REF KF240 .B767 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Learning guide and reference tool of over a thousand complex legal terms defined in accessible language and further explained through the use of succinct examples.
Black's Law Dictionary by Garner, Bryan A.
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Features more than ten thousand legal terms and includes a dictionary guide and the complete United States Constitution.
Law Dictionary, 6th ed. by Gifis, Steven H.
Call Number: REF KF156 .G53 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Defines more than 5,000 legal terms, using nontechnical language that remains legally accurate. Terms are documented with citations and apply to civil procedure, commercial and contract law, constitutional law, criminal law, property law, and torts.

Subject Guide

Helen Yoas

Email Me

Contact:

Madigan Library
LIB137
Hours: M-F 9:00am-5:00pm

570-320-2400 ext. 7920

Subjects: Accounting & Finance, Automotive, Aviation, Diesel & Power Generation, Forestry, Heavy Equipment, Landscape & Horticulture