Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluate the company using the performance ratios you discussed in class. You may need to look at several years or quarters of financial data. Compare your company to the industry/segment and competition.
As defined by RMA's Credit and Lending Dictionary, ratios are a:
"mathematical relationship between two or more things, used as indication of a company's financial strength relative to other companies of comparable size or in same industry" (pg. 1702 of the 2014/2015 Annual Statement Studies)
Evaluate the Company Using...
RMA Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks by
Call Number: Ref HF5681 .B2 R6 2019 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2019-2020
Financial Ratio Benchmarks includes: Nineteen classic financial statement ratios, clearly defined; common-size balance-sheet and income-statement line items, arrayed by asset and sales size; six different asset and sales size categories are presented to ensure a perfect match to your situation; more than 780 industries are presented using the 2017 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes; and data available for four years--you’ll get the most up-to-date information for the current period, and you’ll be able to quickly compare it to the past four periods.
Industry Classification Systems
Industry classification or industry taxonomy organizes companies into industrial groupings based on similar production processes, similar products, or similar behavior in financial markets.
- Click on the arrow next to Get Company Info, then enter a company name or ticker symbol and click Go
- On the left-hand side, click on Overview under the heading Financials
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Investment Research Center provides comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.
- Enter your company's name or ticker symbol and select it from the list of suggested companies
- Click on Valuation to get price ratios
- Click on Key Ratios to get profitability, growth, cash flow, financial health, and efficiency ratios
- Enter your company's ticker symbol and choose it from the suggested companies
- Along the left-hand side menu, click on Financial Overview under the Financial heading
Note: It appears that only the last year is available.
Companies are ranked by total revenues for their respective fiscal years. Included in the survey are companies that are incorporated in the U.S. and operate in the U.S. and file financial statements with a government agency. This includes private companies and cooperatives that file a 10-K or a comparable financial statement with a government agency, and mutual insurance companies that file with state regulators. It also includes companies that file with a government agency but are owned by private companies, domestic or foreign, that do not file such financial statements. Excluded are private companies not filing with a government agency; companies incorporated outside the U.S.; and U.S. companies owned or controlled by other companies, domestic or foreign, that file with a government agency. Also excluded are companies that failed to report full financial statements for at least three quarters of the current fiscal year. Percent change calculations for revenues, net income, and earnings per share are based on data as originally reported. They are not restated for mergers, acquisitions, or accounting changes. The only changes to the prior years’ data are for significant restatement due to reporting errors that require a company to file an amended 10-K.
Forbes Global 2000
We compile our Global 2000 list by screening Interactive Data, Thomson Reuters Fundamentals and Worldscope databases via FactSet Research Systems FDS +1.48% for publicly traded companies. Using these databases as our primary sources of data, we screen for the biggest companies in four metrics; sales, profits, assets and market value. Our market value calculation is as of March 15 closing prices, including all common shares outstanding.
Compare your company to the industry as well as it's competitors using the resources on this page within this guide:
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles are a great source of information on industries. They are current and contain news on specific companies as well as industries as a whole. Included on this page are a list of recommended databases you can use to find these types of articles. Use the following page within this guide to find these articles: