Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Industry Information from Articles Using...
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from: ABI/INFORM Collection;, Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection;, Asian and European Business Collection;, Business Market Research Collection;, and Entrepreneurship Database from Proquest. With global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles are a great source of information on industries. They are current and contain news on specific companies as well as industries as a whole. Included on this page are a list of recommended databases you can use to find these types of articles.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Because JSTOR is an archive, the past 1 to 5 years worth of issues of current titles may not be available. Subjects covered include: ethnic studies, arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
Madigan Library Access in Google Scholar
Using the file "Madigan Library Access to Google Scholar," you can also change the settings in your personal computer so that when Google Scholar finds an article within Madigan Library's Collection, you will see a "Get It @ Madigan Library" button. Clicking that button will take you to a full text version of the article on Madigan's website.
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Written by experts in that field
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used
For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:
Work from Anywhere!
The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.
Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.
Do we own it?
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.
We don't own it...but we can get it for you!
Use interlibrary loan to request articles that we don't have. This service is free of charge for students.