Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a dictionary?
Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
Lookup Definitions Using...
A Dictionary of Business and Management, 4th ed. by
Call Number: REF HF1001 .C63 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, the recent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle.
Understanding American Business Jargon: A Dictionary, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF HF1001 .F65 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Business and culture are inextricably linked, each reflecting and reinforcing trends in the other. In Understanding American Business Jargon, W. Davis Folsom captures the essence of both by focusing on the terms and phrases that make up our business vocabulary. From "AAA" to "Zombie Bonds," Folsom takes us on a tour of over 2,500 concepts that cover the spectrum of business-speak. In this fully revised, updated, and expanded edition. Folsom captures the spirit of business in the new millennium, with such colorful terms as "adhocracy," "Dilbert principle," "hyperlink," "traction," and "viral marketing." Each term is succinctly defined and described in context, and many are illustrated with quotations from the popular press. Including slang, acronyms, a bibliography, an introduction that discusses recent trends in business language, and cross-referenced throughout. Understanding American Business Jargon is not only a handy reference for any businessperson, student, or researcher, but an entertaining glimpse into our constantly evolving business culture.
Terms of Trade by
Call Number: REF HF1373 .D43 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered.
Wall Street Words by
Call Number: REF HG4513 .S37 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Featuring some 4,500 entries, including more than seven hundred new additions, this financial reference defines financial terms, explains investment strategies, and offers case studies demonstrating the application of investment concepts.
Black's Law Dictionary by
Call Number: LAW KF156 .B53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Features more than ten thousand legal terms and includes a dictionary guide and the complete United States Constitution.
Investopedia: Financial Dictionary
Investopedia began as a financial dictionary, separating itself from other dictionaries by offering the "Investopedia Definitions" featuring a plain English interpretation of hard to understand terms and concepts.
Value Line Glossary
To use the glossary tool, simply start typing the word or term in which you are interested into the text box. As you type, a drop down box will appear with a list of terms. The selection of terms offered by the glossary tool will change as you type, offering more relevant terms as you enter more information into the text box. You can click on the term that you are seeking in the drop down list or complete typing the term and press the enter key on your computer. The definition of the term will be displayed below the text box. To find another definition, simply begin typing in the text box again.