Research Guides: MET315 Engineering Economics (Neuhard): Pg. 1 Describe the Company

Choose Your Company

S&P500 List
Browse for a company and find more information on the company you will use for this paper.

Page 1: Describe the company in a financial summary

Value Line Library Elite This link opens in a new window
In-depth financial information, including market and financial data on U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables, plus commentary and insights on companies, industries, markets and the economy.

Search for Company Information

Under the BROWSE RESEARCH tab, Enter the ticker, company, or industry name and click on the suggested name that populates
Click on PDF Reports and select a date to view a detailed report

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company's name or ticker symbol and select the company from the drop down list
Browse the information under the Company Overview tab
Hover over the Company Overview tab and select
- Company Description
- Company History
- Product and Operation

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Source for international business intelligence to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company name or ticker symbol or industry into the search box and choose either your company from the Company Profiles or your industry from the Industry Profiles drop-down menu
Browse through the Company Profile or Industry Profile to learn more

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company's name (not ticker symbol) in the search box and click Search
If your company report is found, click on the your company's name to open the report

Note: the most useful reports will be from Hoover's Company Records

International Directory of Company Histories by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: REF HD2721 .I63 v.1-date
This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. The Madigan Library has these volumes in print in the Reference Collection as well as available electronically through the link below to Gale eBooks.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Search for International Directory of Company Histories

In GVRL, enter the name of your company in the search box
After you see your list of results, in the right-hand menu, select the heading Publication Title
Select International Directory of Company Histories then click Apply
You should now see results that are only within this publication. You can use the titles of the articles to look for an overview of your company, or you can use the heading Subjects along the right to see if your company is listed there
If you find an overview of your company, click on the PDF link to view the article.

Google Finance
Business information, news and interactive charts
Investopedia
Investopedia offers an abundance of financial content, from articles, dictionary terms, tutorials and video, to frequently asked questions and exam prep quizzes.
Yahoo! Finance: Industry Center
A rich source of financial information with company profiles, SEC filings, annual reports, stock quotes, news, analysis, industry statistics and news, and information for investors. Historical quotes for stocks, bonds, and money markets are since 1970 and give daily, weekly, and monthly closing prices and dividends. Also see "Industry Browser" under "Tools" which allows you to browse industries by performance rankings, including ROE, P/E ratio, market cap, price change, price to book value, profit margin, price to book value, long term debt, and more. Enter your company symbol and click "View Industry".