Research Guides: CET495-496: Civil Engineering Capstone: Locale Information

Social, Economical, Cultural, and Historical Impacts

Use this page to gather data, statistics, and historical data which leads to commentary on the social, economical, cultural, and historical impacts of your project/assignment. What can you conclude about the society surrounding your project and the impact this project would have on its community?

PA History in Data Resources

Gather data about a population using statistics and quick facts gathered from these sources to deduce economic impacts as well as social.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
State and County QuickFacts
QuickFacts is an easy to use application that shows tables, maps and charts of frequently requested statistics from more than ten Census Bureau censuses, surveys, and programs. Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Places and county subdivisions with populations of 5,000 or more are also included.
Data.census.gov
Explore data and tables on America's people, places, and economies. Building customizable maps from geographies and regions. Includes topics such as education, employment, health, and housing.
MyEnvironment: United States EPA
The MyEnvironment search application is designed to provide a cross-section of environmental information based on the user's location. Includes air quality, water quality, energy production, health risks, climate indicators, and more.

PA History Social Impacts

Explore Pennsylvania through land and water use and history through these resources. A helpful tip: For a Google Search, use terms such as "NAME OF CITY OR COUNTY" AND "historical society," for example.

Directory of PA Genealogical & Historical Societies
Free Directory of Pennsylvania Genealogical & Historical Societies is the largest, most current and accurate directory in existence. Because of its size (340+ historical and genealogical societies are listed) we highly recommend using your browser's "find" function to search by both county and town.

Pennsylvania History by The Pennsylvania Historical Association
Call Number: eJournal
Project Muse historical journal of Pennsylvania
Major Problems in American Environmental History by Carolyn Merchant; Thomas Paterson
Call Number: HC110 .E5 M3 2005
ISBN: 9780618308057
Publication Date: 2006
This volume traces the history of environmental conditions in the United States through the examination of critical issues such as pollution, conservation, and wilderness preservation. The Second Edition of this popular text includes several new essays and documents and pays particular attention to multiculturalism and gender throughout. In order to place American environmental issues in a larger context, the text emphasizes international relations and globalization.

Lycoming County Resources

Madigan Library holds various maps and historical information about Lycoming County alone. Use the catalog to find these items and contact your librarian for special permission use if needed.

1873 Atlas and 1876 History of Lycoming County, Penn. by Beach Nichols
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Oversize F157 .L9 A841 1979
Publication Date: 1979
Facsimiles of 1. Atlas of Lycoming County, Pennsylvania from actual survey by and under the direction of Beach Nichols. 2. History of Lycoming County. Multiple copies available.
Groundwater Resources of the Williamsport Region, Lycoming County, Pennsylvania by Pennsylvania. Bureau of Topographic and Geologic Survey,
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Special Collections - 3rd floor QE157 .L553 1981
Publication Date: 1981
By Orville B. Lloyd, Jr., and Louis D. Carswell. Prepared by the United States Geological Survey, Water Resources Division, in cooperation with the Pennsylvania Geological Survey. Plates, illustrations, and maps included.
Flood Plain Information - Loyalsock Creek, Lycoming County, Pennsylvania by Balitmore District, Corps of Engineers
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Special Collections - 3rd floor F157 .L9 F56 1970
Publication Date: 1970
Prepared for Lycoming Planning Commission. Includes illustrations.
Lycoming County, Pennsylvania, Flood Plain Information: West Branch Susquehanna River, Williamsport Area by Baltimore District, Corps. of Engineers
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Special Collections - 3rd floor F157 .L9 F566 1971
Publication Date: 1971
Prepared for Lycoming County Planning Commission. Includes plates, illustrations, and maps.
Lycoming County Physical Features Study
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Special Collections - 3rd floor F157 .L9 L88
Publication Date: 1969
Susquehanna Waterway: The West Branch in Lycoming County by Lycoming County Planning Commission
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Special Collections - 3rd floor F157 .S8 L9 1975
Publication Date: 1975

Search the library catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.
Films On Demand: Technical & Trade This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos designed for technical and trade education in agriculture, automotive technology, building & technical trades, engineering technology, information technology, technical careers, and technical communication.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for civil engineering and surveying is TA. More specifically, TA is broken down as follows:

TA1-2040 Engineering (General). Civil engineering. (General)
TA164 Bioengineering
TA165 Engineering instruments, meters, etc. Industrial instrumentation
TA166-167 Human engineering
TA168 Systems engineering
TA170-171 Environmental engineering
TA174 Engineering design
TA177.4-185 Engineering economy
TA190-194 Management of engineering works
TA197-198 Engineering meteorology
TA213-215 Engineering machinery, tools, and implements
TA329-348 Engineering mathematics. Engineering analysis
TA349-359 Mechanics of engineering. Applied mechanics
TA365-367 Acoustics in engineering. Acoustical engineering
TA401-492 Materials of engineering and construction. Mechanics of materials
TA495 Disasters and engineering
TA501-625 Surveying
TA630-695 Structural engineering (General)
TA703-712 Engineering geology. Rock mechanics. Soil mechanics. Underground construction
TA715-787 Earthwork. Foundations
TA800-820 Tunneling. Tunnels
TA1001-1280 Transportation engineering
TA1501-1820 Applied optics. Photonics
TA2001-2040 Plasma engineering. Applied plasma dynamics

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

T Technology

TC Hydraulic engineering
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF Railroad engineering and operation
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction (see the Building and Construction Call Number Guide for more detailed ranges)