Research Guides: CET495-496: Civil Engineering Capstone: Site Condition Resources

Site Condition Resources

Climate at a Glance: National Centers for Environmental Information
Historical and spatial comparisons of local, county, state, regional, national, and global meteorological data to determine trends and patterns.
Climate Monitoring Resources: National Centers for Environmental Information
Data sets and tools for climate reports, temperature, precipitation, snow and ice, weather patterns, and other monitoring data.
Prediction Tool for Site Restoration
The Pennsylvania Community Prediction Tool for Site Restoration (PCPT) was developed by the PA Natural Heritage Program to assist restoration practitioners in their efforts to establish native plant communities using species most likely to thrive at the site. It will give you a list of native plants that comprise natural communities likely to thrive on your restoration site, and a little information about each of the species, including its tolerance of human disturbance, wetland status, rarity, and growth habit.
PPUC: PAPowerSwitch
Search official electric company offerings by zip code. Your supplier will be listed under "Your Distributor"
PPUC: PAGasSwitch
Search by zip code to look up the natural gas supplier for your area. It will be listed by "Your Distributor"
PAPUC: Telephone Companies & Contacts
Excel sheets of Telephone Carriers and Wireless Telephone Companies by County.
PAPUC: Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission regulates the many essential utility services that Commonwealth residents and businesses rely on every day. The PUC works to ensure safe and reliable electric, natural gas, pipeline, motor carrier, rail, telecommunications, water and wastewater service at reasonable rates.

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.

General Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

Envirofacts
Provides access to several EPA databases with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers human impact to the environment. Subjects include environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program
Compiles data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through data files and database tools.

Journal of Sustainable Water in the Built Environment by American Society of Civil Engineers
The Journal of Sustainable Water in the Built Environment presents activity and research developments in water issues, challenges, and opportunities throughout the developed landscape. The scope covers sustainable stormwater management and broader water systems interactions. Subjects include urban stormwater quantity, quality, hydrology, characterization, treatability, and impacts; water harvesting; urban water ecosystem services; sustainable urban watershed management; urban streams; combined sewer overflow/stormwater interactions; urban energy/water interactions; lifecycle analysis; and related policy, implementation, and economics. All papers are encouraged to have design or regulatory implications that are applicable to moving the profession forward.
Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management by American Society of Civil Engineers
The Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management reports on all phases of planning and management of water resources. The papers examine social, economic, environmental, and administrative concerns relating to the use and conservation of water. Social and environmental objectives in areas such as fish and wildlife management, water-based recreation, and wild and scenic river use are assessed. Developments in computer applications are discussed, as are ecological, cultural, and historical values.