Research Guides: Dental Hygiene: Quick Links

Point-of-Care

UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides dental-specific pharmacology and clinical information, including interaction and allergy screening tools, patient medication management, lesion diagnosis and a wide-ranging collection of dental reference databases.

Mouth and Dental Disorders
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

Data and Statistics
From the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, find data by topic or population.
FastStats: Oral and Dental Health
From the National Center for Health Statistics.
Oral Health Country/Area Profile Project
Data are presented by standard age groups to provide for inter- and intra-country comparisons of oral health status.
Oral Health Data
From the CDC. Contains data for select indicators from the National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS).
Oral Health Fact Sheet
Published by the World Health Organization.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.

BeTobaccoFree.gov
Consumer guide to tobacco information, including health effects of tobacco, nicotine, and electronic cigarettes, and tips to quit tobacco use.and never start smoking.
CDC Division of Oral Health
Mission is to prevent and control oral diseases and conditions by building the knowledge, tools, and networks that promote healthy behaviors and effective public health practices and programs.
Dental Health
Health topic from MedlinePlus.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Mission is to improve dental, oral, and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information.
Oral Health
From the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
U.S. Surgeon General
As the Nation’s Doctor, the Surgeon General provides Americans with the best scientific information available on how to improve their health and reduce the risk of illness and injury.