Research Guides: Dental Hygiene: Terminology

Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Dental Disorders
Covers topics including approach to the dental patient, symptoms of dental and oral disorders, common dental disorders, dental emergencies, how to do dental procedures, lip and tongue disorders, periodontal disorders, and temporomandibular disorders.
Glossary of Dental Clinical and Administrative Terms
Contains the Council's most current set of terms and definitions. Content is based on the CDT 2011-2012 glossary, with some changes (e.g., definitions of inlays and onlays) that came about after the manual was printed.
Glossary of Dental Health Terms

Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 3rd ed. by Elsevier
Call Number: REF RK27 .M672 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more.
A-Z of Dental Nursing by Wendy Ann Paintin
Call Number: RK27 .P35 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Offering concise definitions of common words, terms, names & phrases spanning each of the key topic areas such as: cross-infection, endodontics, anatomy and physiology, pathology, radiography and materials.
The Encyclopedia of Dental and Oral Health by Carol Ann Rinzler; Mark S. Wolff (Foreword by)
Call Number: REF RK27 .R56 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Covers proper dental care, dental practices and procedures, infectious diseases and related diseases, anatomy of the teeth and mouth, the causes of tooth decay, and much more.