After reviewing Section 4.7 of the textbook, you will write a cause-and-effect argument. You may choose your own topic using one of the broad subject areas mention in the textbook, or you may consider a cause-and-effect situation that you might face in your future career. You will need to decide if you are going to identify the cause(s) and then give the effect(s) or vice versa. You will need to begin with a narrative hook to get the reader’s interest and thesis statement in the introductory paragraph, include as many body paragraphs as necessary (at least three) to “clearly explain and support the causes and effects using a full range of evidence” and end with a concluding paragraph that “summarizes your main points and reinforces your thesis” (Weaver, et al). You must use multiple sources for this paper and your sources need to be cited internally and externally (Works Cited page).
Checklist of Items to Turn In via the Dropbox (worth 10 points)
Additional Notes
FCAs (Focus Correction Areas)
Total: 45 points x 2 = 90 points
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and others.
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
A broad general reference resource with a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics in scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.
Includes biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news.
Covers social issues and includes pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles, full-text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, and links to pertinent websites.
Information on significant people, events, and topics in U.S. History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Information on significant people, events, and topics in World History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
Leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles. Also includes working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from the printed paper, blogs, videos and web content from 1985-present. PCT users must log into their NYT account for full-text. Subscription is renewed every 4 years. Student accounts expire Dec. 31 after graduation.
This link opens in a new windowDigital replica ofThe New York Times published between 1851 and 2002. PCT users must log into their NYT account for full-text. Subscription is renewed every 4 years. Student accounts expire Dec. 31 after graduation.