Research Guides: Find Data and Statistics: Government

Federal Agency Data Sources

Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Department of Agriculture

National Agricultural Statistics Service
Conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
USDA Economic Research Service Data Products
Includes food price outlook, ag and food statistics, cost estimates of foodborne illnesses, farm income and wealth statistics, and more.
U.S. Forest Service - Geospatial Data Discovery
The U.S. Forest Service has configured this open data site to help their partners and the public discover geospatial data published by the Agency. Categories include: lands and realty, facilities and infrastructure, administrative boundaries, recreation, transportation, weather and climate, fire and aviation, forest management, ecosystems, vegetation, hydrography, imagery, and terrain.

Department of Commerce

Commerce Data Hub
Provides an overview of the public data maintained by the Department of Commerce and its bureaus and offices. Included are links to the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Industry and Security, United States Census Bureau, Economic Development Administration, International Trade Administration, Minority Business Development Agency, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Telecommunications and Information Administration, National Technical Information Service, and the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Department of Defense

Department of Defense Data
Authoritative data sets available to the public, as long as they are not restricted for national security, privacy or other statutory reasons.
Defense Manpower Data Center Statistics & Reports
Contains links to sites with statistical information and published reports on subjects such as U.S. military casualties (DCAS), aggregated roster immunization reports (ICRS), and military training and readiness reports (START).

Department of Education

Institute of Education Science
The nation's leading source for rigorous, independent education research, evaluation and statistics.
National Center for Education Statistics
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Department of Energy

U.S. Energy Information Administration Data Tools, Apps, and Maps
Includes all types of energy data, including natural gas, fossil fuel, and alternative fuel vehicle data.

Department of Health and Human Services

Open Data
From the HHS Office of the Chief Data Officer, this site lists the open data inventories and APIs, data repositories, and search tools for the agencies, centers, and institutes that fall under the Department.
Research at HHS Operating Divisions
Links to each operating research division that provides tools and data for scientists, researchers, and other interested parties, as well as links to statistics and reports on births, deaths, diseases, health care spending, and the health profession workforce from entities such as the CDC.

Department of Homeland Security

Department of Homeland Security Data
DHS and its components provide access to statistical reports and machine readable data sets. These datasets are available and follow the guiding principles set in the DHS Digital Government strategy.
Office of Homeland Security Statistics - Data and Reports by Topic
The Office of Homeland Security Statistics (OHSS) was established in September 2023, replacing the former Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS). OHSS will continue to produce legacy OIS data and reports along with a number of new immigration products, and also report on a range of additional topics, including immigration, law enforcement use of force, and intellectual property rights enforcement. Over time, OHSS reports will cover all DHS homeland security statistical data, including cybersecurity; emergency management; infrastructure protection; maritime; screening; terrorism and targeted violence; and chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear.

Department of Housing and Urban Development

HUD User Datasets
HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

Department of the Interior

Bureau of Indian Affairs - Browse Data by Category
Categories include tribal and federal government, education, tribal land, and funding, awards, and grants.
Bureau of Land Management Data Resources
Data includes detailed information on the commercial uses of the public lands (such as energy development, livestock grazing, mining, and timber harvesting); recreational activities and revenues; wild horse and burro management, including figures relating to on-range herd populations, removals from the range, and national adoption figures; cadastral (mapping) surveys; conservation of rangeland resources and more than 870 special units, such as wilderness areas, that are part of the BLM's 34 million-acre National Conservation Lands system; and the socio-economic impacts of public land management.
Bureau of Land Management Geospatial Business Platform
Explore BLM data. Categories include administrative boundaries, Cadastral Survey (PLSS), energy, fire and aviation, fisheries and wildlife, hydrology, lands, minerals, national conservation lands, planning, range, recreation, transportation, and vegetation and forestry.
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Statistics and Facts
BOEM collects data on all facets of their offshore energy programs and makes that information available in various formats.
National Interagency Fire Center Open Data Site
Federal interagency wildland fire maps and data for all. Explore data categories including: current year wildland fires, historical wildland fires, historical operational data, weather, boundaries, and fire progression.
National Park Service Data Categories
Includes boundaries, campsites, cultural, elevation, facilities, forestry, geology, hydrology, points of interest, marine, soils, trails, transportation, vegetation, and water quality,
Offshore Data and Tools
From the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, this site offers: BSEE regions technical data, offshore data center, eWell, offshore infrastructure dashboard, offshore incident statistics, conventional offshore energy approval process, calendar year oil and gas production, and spills archive.
Reclamation Information Sharing Environment (RISE)
RISE is a Bureau of Reclamation open data system for viewing, accessing, and downloading Reclamation's water and water-related data.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Open Data
Discover free public data, tools, and resources from U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Browse data by category: biota, boundaries, conservation planning, environment, facilities, inland waters, management, and transportation.
U.S. Geological Survey - GIS Data
USGS is a primary source of geographic information system (GIS) data. This data and information is presented in spatial and geographic formats, including The National Map, Earth Explorer, GloVIS, LandsatLook, and much more. Explore GIS Data Maps.

Department of Justice

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
National Institute of Corrections - Corrections State Statistics Information
Provides lists of resources related to local, state, and federal statistics displayed to help you see the current state of the corrections industry as of the last set of reported data.

Department of Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
OSHA (Occupational Safety & Health Administration) Data
Learn more about workplace safety and health from OSHA and other federal agencies, including: severe injuries; establishment-specific data; air sampling data; fatality inspection data; and injury tracking.

Department of State

Bureau of Consular Affairs Data Catalog
Datasets include statistics on US passport applications and issuances by year. List of passport acceptance facilities and travel advisories.

Department of Transportation

Department of Transportation - Open Data Portal
Includes data on railroads, roadways and bridges, pipelines and HAZMAT, trucking and motorcoaches, aviation, public transit, automobiles, maritime and waterways, research and statistics, and bicycles and pedestrians.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.

Department of the Treasury

U.S. Department of the Treasury
Data sources include interest rates, treasury coupon-issue corporate bond yield curve, federal financial data, national debt, quarterly refunding, and the Treasury International Capital (TIC) System.
U.S. Treasury Fiscal Data
Provides accessible, easy-to-use federal financial data and resources to inform the American public and inspire trust in government.

Department of Veterans Affairs

Department of Veterans Affairs Open Data Portal
Includes veteran population, state summaries, maps, expenditures, and reports.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
Develops statistical analyses and reports on a broad range of topics, operate VA’s data and statistics Web portal to disseminate Veteran data and statistics, and develop estimates and projections on Veteran populations.

Social Security Administration

Social Security: Research, Statistics & Policy Analysis
Includes research and analysis archives, statistics, public-use data files, population profiles, and projections.

Pennsylvania State Agency Data Sources

Open Data Pennsylvania
Goal is to make data available in order to measure government performance, engage citizens, create economic opportunities, and develop innovative policy solutions.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The Commonwealth’s official source for demographic and economic data.

Department of Health

Pennsylvania Department of Health - Health Statistics
Statistical products covering a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research, and public inquiry. All statistical reports and webpages are maintained by the Health Informatics Office within the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

Department of Agriculture

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Pennsylvania Field Office
USDA's NASS Pennsylvania Field Office is operated in cooperation with the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture. Includes links to PA statistics and publications.

Department of Community & Economic Development

Municipal Statistics
Includes local tax databases, local government data and demographics, local government annual financial reports, and municipal authority data.
Pennsylvania On Target: The Commonwealth's Economic Dashboard
Provides centralized, interactive access to key data that can help to inform economic and workforce development strategies in Pennsylvania. View key performance indicators, explore PA's industry sectors, and explore emerging technologies.

Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

PA DCNR's Open Data Portal
Provides access to all published GIS data, which includes over 130 datasets relative to state parks, state forests, geology, recreational opportunities and more.

Department of Corrections

Pennsylvania Department of Corrections - Planning, Research and Statistics
Includes budget documents, evaluations, historical statistical reports, monthly population reports, reports and dashboards, and research in review.
Data Archive Corrections
From the state attorney general, this site includes PA Department of Corrections calendar year releases, county reports, annual inmate admissions and releases, Board of Probation and Parole dashboard, prison population reports, prison inmate statistics, joint performance measures, recidivism statistics, restraining pregnant females, and annual statistical reports.
Pennsylvania Unified Crime Reporting System
The Pennsylvania UCR Program serves as the state repository for the collection of crime statistics and its primary objective is to generate reliable information for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management.

Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs

Pennsylvania Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs - Data Dashboards
Serves as a tool for accessing multiple sources of data in one place and displaying that data in ways that promote more efficient data-driven decision making and strategic planning. Most importantly, this data aims to help prevent as many Pennsylvanians as possible from battling addition and to help those that are suffering from the disease of addiction. Dashboards include: DDAP Prevention (substance use behaviors, substance use consequences, gambling behaviors and consequences, and risk and protective factors), Opioid and Substance Use Disorder Stigma in Pennsylvania, DDAP's Data Page - Governor's Executive Budget Program Measures, Fatal and Non-Fatal Drug Overdose Surveillance, and Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Interactive Data Report.

Department of Education

Pennsylvania Department of Education - Data and Reporting
The Pennsylvania Department of Education compiles and analyzes a wide variety of data about attendance, graduation rates, schools and school districts, student progress, transportation, and other information.

Department of Environmental Protection

DEP's eLibrary
Houses publications, source water assessment summary reports, and more.
DEP Reports
Access to dozens of online reports and key data about the many programs the agency administers: oil and gas; land recycling; radiation protection; storage tanks; water; laboratory; hazardous sites cleanup; mining; waste; air quality; DEP legislative budget hearing materials; and Energy Programs Office.
eFACTS
Pennsylvania’s Environment Facility Application Compliance Tracking System (eFACTS) allows individuals to search for authorizations, clients, sites and facilities. Users can also search the database to find inspection and pollution prevention visits as well as inspection results data, including enforcement information when violations are noted. DEP has also provided a name search to use when it is not known if the entity is a client, site or facility.
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Mapping Tools
Includes environmental search tool, PA Lake Erie Control Point Bluff Erosion StoryMap, Looking Below the Surface, Macroinvertebrate Taxa Viewer, The Susquehanna River Story, MS4 Requirements Mapping Application, Nutrient Trading Mapping Application, eMap PA, PA Oil and Gas Mapping, Integrated Water Quality Report Maps, Historical Oil and Gas Development in Allegheny County, WQN Mapping Application, 313dPriorityWaters, PA AUL Registry, and the Williamsport Plume.
PA DEP's GIS Open Data Portal
Provides access to all of our publicly published, non-sensitive GIS data, which includes over 300 data layers relative to abandoned mine lands, air quality, water pollution control, coal mining, hazardous waste, operations, oil & gas, streams and lakes, industrial minerals mining, integrated report, municipal waste, radiation, storage tanks, stormwater, Chapter 93, TMDLs, water resources, and more.
Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access (PASDA)
Pennsylvania's official public access open geospatial data portal.

Department of Health

Pennsylvania Department of Health - Health Statistics
Statistical products covering a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research, and public inquiry. All statistical reports and webpages are maintained by the Health Informatics Office within the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

Department of Human Services

DHS Data Dashboards & Reports
Includes data on child welfare, long term care, early childhood education, county block grant funds, developmental programs, Medicaid, mental health, Office of Long Term Living (OLTL), personal homes, child fatality and near fatality reports, and county data.

Department of Labor and Industry

Pennsylvania Department of Labor - Statistic Materials
Includes economic reports, jobs, labor force, occupations, and wages.
Labor Market Information System
From the Center for Workforce Information & Analysis, Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, this system offers a full range of features and services to assist labor market analysts, job seekers, and employers in their workforce development needs. Includes labor market analysis, income and wages, labor market facts, area profiles, occupation profiles, industry profiles, and historical data analysis (job data, supply and demand, employment and wages, economic indicators, and demographics).

Department of Motor Vehicles

Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles - Statistics
Statistics on teen drivers, mature drivers, motor vehicles, school buses, motorcycles, and general drivers.
Annual Report of Registrations
Reflects the number of vehicles with active registration as of the end of the respective calendar year. The vehicles are included in Pennsylvania’s standard vehicle and apportioned registration systems.

Department of Revenue

Pennsylvania Department of Revenue - Reports and Statistics
Provides access to public tax lien lists, monthly revenue reports, personal income tax statistics, school district income tax statistics,
and more.

Department of State

Campaign Finance Data
Full campaign finance report export.
Voting & Election Statistics
Voter registration statistics by county, Congressional District, Senate District, House District, and party.

Department of Transportation

Crash Facts & Statistics
Publicly accessible crash and fatality information as well as custom searches using the Pennsylvania Crash Information Tool.
Pennsylvania Crash Information Tool
From a variety of reports posted on the website, the public can learn about traffic crashes, fatalities and injuries statewide and in specific counties or municipalities. Search capabilities allow the public user to request and view customized crash data reports.
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation's GIS Open Data Portal
Provides access to all published GIS data that you can map, style, chart, download or share.
Traffic Information
PennDOT monitors traffic information, provides traffic and Geographic Information Systems resources for partners and stakeholders, and much more. The department also facilitates safe Traffic Counting across the state. Includes highway statistics, National Highway System (NHS) maps, and traffic data.

Other Relevant Sites

International Government Data & Statistics
This guide from UC Berkeley focuses on data and statistical sources of international organizations and national governments outside the United States. It also includes commercial providers that facilitate access to this data and other sources such as major surveys that are global in scope.
Quality of Government (QoC) Data
The QoC Institute is an independent research group at the University of Gothenburg in Sweden that studies the quality of government and its effects on public policy and socio-economic conditions. They offer open-access datasets, both other sources compilation datasets and original content datasets, so users can learn, research and understand better the concepts relating to Quality of Government.