Research Guides: Find Data and Statistics: Social Sciences

Online Statistical Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network
Works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Cornell Center for Social Sciences Data & Reproduction Archive
This extensive data collection emphasizes labor, political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, economic and social data from national and international organizations, and studies compiled by individual researchers.
Council of European Social Science Data Archives
Offers extensive, integrated, and sustainable data services to the social sciences, uniting social science data archives across Europe.
Country Studies
From the Library of Congress, the Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Population Reference Bureau Resource Library
Search for data and policy products on population, health, and environment issues. Browse collections, explore policy briefs, watch videos, and put the data in context.
UK Data Service
Principal repository for economic, population, and social research data in the UK.
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
HUD User
Managed by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R), HUD User hosts research, publications, and datasets in housing, community development, and more.
Human Development Reports
Annual human development index report published by the Human Development Report Office of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).
ICPSR
Maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Population Reference Bureau
A private, nonprofit organization specializing in collecting and supplying statistics necessary for research and/or academic purposes focused on the environment, and health and structure of populations.
State and County QuickFacts
Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Places and county subdivisions with populations of 5,000 or more are also included.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Free Online Books

Green Book by The House Ways and Means Committee
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.
Statistical Yearbook, 66th issue by United Nations (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
Provides a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period.

Books in the Library Collection

American Attitudes: Who Thinks What About The Issues That Shape Our Lives, 8e by New Strategist Press Editors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Presents what the public thinks about topics ranging from gay marriage to the American Dream, and the pros and cons of patriotism, how Americans feel about their financial status, their hopes for their children, how often they socialize and with whom, their religious beliefs, political leanings, and standard of living.
American Men: Who They Are & How They Live, 3e by New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Publication Date: 2008
Provides demographic data showing the size of the male population, its changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and evolving racial composition. Also includes demographic data on men's health, incomes, living arrangements, spending, and wealth.
American Women: Who They Are & How They Live, 4e by New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Publication Date: 2008
Provides demographic data showing the size of the female population, its changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and evolving racial composition. Also includes demographic data on women's health, incomes, living arrangements, spending, and wealth.
The Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964, 8e by New Strategist Press Editors (Prepared for Publication by)
Publication Date: 2015
In this reference, Russell analyzes Boomer attitudes, lifestyles, incomes, spending, and wealth--providing a comprehensive portrait of the huge and influential generation whose top concerns are family, finances, health care, and retirement.
The Millenials: Americans Born 1977-1994, 6e by New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Publication Date: 2015
Provides a demographic and socioeconomic profile of the Millennial generation. Includes statistics on the education, living arrangements, labor force participation, health, incomes, spending, and time use of the youngest generation and its parents.
A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends, 2e by Becker, Patricia C.
Publication Date: 2002
Chapters include statistical tables and pie charts, in addition to some text explaining some of the characteristics and trends of the data presented. Data is presented on population characteristics; households and families; social conditions; labor force and job characteristics; housing; income, wealth, and poverty; education; crime and criminal justice; leisure, volunteerism, and religion; voting; and government.