Research Guides: Find Data and Statistics: Business & Economics

Databases

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Source for international business intelligence to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

Company Websites & Annual Reports

A source of company information is a company's own website. There you may find all kinds of company information such as history, locations, products and services, executives and staffing, including links to annual reports, 10-K reports, market reports, research and development, etc.. Information from private companies, especially small private companies may be difficult to find since they are not required to disclose detailed financial information. Look for the Annual Report to Shareholders on the company website which will provide basic financials and forecast future directions for the company.

NAICS Search

U.S. Census Bureau NAICS Search
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Books

Business Statistics of the United States 2023 by Bernan Press (Editor)
Call Number: REF HC101 .A13122 2023
Publication Date: 2024
Collection of data from as early as 1913 that reflects the nation's economic performance. Provides several years of annual, quarterly, and monthly data in industrial and demographic detail, including key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more. This edition continues to explore the dramatic impact that COVID-19 is having on U.S. and world economies.
Green Book by The House Ways and Means Committee
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present by Carter, Susan B.
Call Number: REF HA202 .H57 2006 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2006
Provides a compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.
Statistical Yearbook, 66th issue by United Nations (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
Provides a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period.

Websites

ALFRED: Archival Economic Database
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
Consumer Price Index
A measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
DataBank from the World Bank Group
An analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Economic Census
Official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
ECLAC has developed a number of information systems related to economic and social development in the Latin American and Caribbean region. These systems are available for governments and institutions of the region through direct request to the corresponding divisions.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report produced by the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration’s domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation’s economic progress with text and extensive data appendices.
EDGAR: U.S. Government Securities and Exchange Commission
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, including reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
FDIC - Analysis
Papers, conferences, and surveys that promote a better understanding of everything from market risks to the effects of policy changes on consumers. Includes data from the Center for Financial Research, Consumer Research, the Quarterly Banking Profile, and the FDIC National Survey of Unbanked and Underbanked Households.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis,, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
globalEDGE
Source for international business and trade information on all 50 U.S. states. In addition to demographic, economic, and historical information on each state, you will find data on corporations with headquarters in each state, and links to state-specific resources. Executive memos are also available.
International Trade Administration Research Center
Agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce that promotes U.S. exports by providing diplomatic support, helping to shape trade policy, removing trade barriers, and enforcing U.S. trade laws and agreements. The Research Center provides trade-related data analysis and tools by topic, industry, and country.
International Trade and Tariff Data
From the World Trade Organization, this side provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues.
IPUMS USA
Collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
National Historical Geographic Information System
Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
OSHA (Occupational Safety & Health Administration) Data
Learn more about workplace safety and health from OSHA and other federal agencies, including: severe injuries; establishment-specific data; air sampling data; fatality inspection data; and injury tracking.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
Annual series that provides subnational economic data for U.S. establishments with paid employees by establishment industry and enterprise size. This series includes the number of firms & establishments, employment during the week of March 12, and annual payroll.
U.S. Department of the Treasury
Data sources include interest rates, treasury coupon-issue corporate bond yield curve, federal financial data, national debt, quarterly refunding, and the Treasury International Capital (TIC) System.
UN Comtrade Database
Free access to detailed global trade data. aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade. Information can be extracted in a variety of formats, including API developer tools for integration into enterprise applications and workflows.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data. Search for data or browse by country or indicator.