Physical Therapy: Textbooks

Delivers a high-quality visual presentation of the disorders a physical therapist would most likely encounter in daily practice.

Describes how movement evolves, how it becomes skilled, and how dysfunction can occur; illustrates the necessary skills you need to successfully practice PT; explains how to development areas of expertise, including how to enhance a patient's function in such tasks as bed mobility, transfers, and gait training; and much more.

Covers the fundamentals of the field and helps you build your documentation and clinical decision-making skills.

Provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient.

Provides a solid background in pathology concepts and how they affect the role of the PTA in client rehabilitation. Chapters define each disease or systemic disorder, then describe appropriate physical therapy assessments plus guidelines, precautions, and contraindications for interventions. Case studies show how treatment ideas may be applied in everyday practice.

Guide to applications of the common imaging modalities and the basic interpretation of these images.

Includes information about transfers, positioning, vital sign measurement, wheelchair fit and management, assistive devices, and gait.

Reports on the recent progress in the design and control of prostheses.

Provides pedagogy from top experts in the field to help you master the practice of PT for children.

Provides a solid background in the structure and function of the musculoskeletal system, with clear explanations of normal movement setting the stage for discussions of abnormal movement patterns and treatment techniques.

Content has been thoroughly revised to keep you up to date on the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. Five new chapters have also been added to this edition to help you learn how to better manage common orthopedic, cardiopulmonary, and neurologic conditions; become familiar with functional outcomes and assessments; and better understand the psychosocial aspects of aging.

Provides evidence-based guidelines to manipulation, evaluation, and treatment procedures of the spine and temporomandibular joint.

Presents basic medical information regarding common clinical diagnostic categories followed by coverage of physical therapy examination, intervention and special considerations within each diagnostic group.

Incorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences with physical therapy assessments and treatment procedures. Covers strategies for fall prevention, virtual reality rehabilitation, body-weight treadmill training, and upper extremity amputations and prosthetics.

Coding, reimbursement, and documentation resource developed exclusively for physical therapy.

Introduction to the importance of documentation to support quality patient care and appropriate reimbursement.

Updated content throughout the text helps you stay up to date on the best practices involving patient examination, medical screening, patient management, and communication.