Research Guides: Architecture: Dictionaries

What is a dictionary?

Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.

The Visual Dictionary of Architecture by Gavin Ambrose; Paul Harris; Sally Stone
Call Number: REF NA31 .A43 2008
ISBN: 9782940373543
Publication Date: 2008
A guide to the many and varied terms used frequently within architecture. It gives the reader an understanding of architectural terminology. It distills and illustrates more than 270 common architecture terms, from practical terms such as Vaulted, Spire and Cladding to conceptual terms such as Modernism and Postmodernism.
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture, 2nd ed. by Francis D. K. Ching
Call Number: NA31 .C44 2012
ISBN: 9780470648858
Publication Date: 2011
An essential one-volume reference of architectural topics using Francis D.K. Ching's signature presentation. It is the only dictionary that provides concise, accurate definitions illustrated with finely detailed, hand-rendered drawings. From Arch to Wood, every concept, technology, material and detail important to architects and designers are presented in Ching's unique style.
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, 2nd ed. by James Stevens Curl
Call Number: REF NA31 .C864 2006
ISBN: 9780192806307
Publication Date: 2006
This critically acclaimed dictionary covers every period of Western architectural history, and has been fully updated and expanded to include landscape terms. An invaluable work of reference for both students and the general reader. Features: contains over 6,000 entries, and over 250 superb illustrations; includes comprehensive coverage of architects, styles, and landscape architecture terms; and fully cross-referenced.
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction by Erkki Jokiniemi; Nikolas Davies
Call Number: REF NA31 .D38 2008
ISBN: 9780750685023
Publication Date: 2008
With more than 20,000 words and terms individually defined, this is a dictionary for anyone studying or working in architecture, construction or any of the built environment fields. The innovative and detailed cross-referencing system allows readers to track down elusive definitions from general subject headings.
Illustrated Dictionary of Historic Architecture by Cyril M. Harris (Editor)
Call Number: REF NA31 .H56 1983
ISBN: 048624444x
Publication Date: 1983
This book offers a unique tour through the entire history of architectyre: a compendium of definitions for over 5,000 terms. This gathering of architectural knowledge is complemented by an unprecedented collection of over 2,000 line drawings that richly illustrate significant aspects of architectural styles. Unusual cutaway views, close-ups of intricate details and precisely rendered plans show many of the greatest architectural achievements of all time.
Dictionary of Ecodesign by Ken Yeang; Lillian Woo
Call Number: REF NK1520 .Y43 2010
ISBN: 9780415458993
Publication Date: 2010
This work is a guide to the terminology of sustainable design. Providing a unique resource for the practitioner and student, this book leaves the reader free to 'dip' in and out of the book allowing for 'bite-sized' learning at their own convenience.

Architecture Visual Dictionary Online
Designed to help you find the right word at a glance.
Dictionary of Architectural Terms
From the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission.
Illustrated Architecture Dictionary
From the Buffalo as an Architectural Museum.
Picture Dictionaries for Architecture and Design
These online dictionaries are packed with pictures that illustrate important ideas in architecture and housing design. Find out the name of an interesting roof, discover the history of an unusual column, and learn to recognize historic periods in architecture.