Research Guides: Architecture: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture and design, the history of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. American and international journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
JSTOR
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
ARTstor: JSTOR collection

Images and media from the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. All content is rights-cleared for education and research.
ARTstor: Public Collections

Open access images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.
ProQuest One Sustainability
Focused on sustainability and related disciplines aligned with environmental, social, and economic impact. Subjects cover agriculture, biodiversity, civil engineering, environmental engineering, and more.
ProQuest One Business
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Offers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
Associates Programs Source Plus
Wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.
ProQuest Central Premium
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
SAGE Journals
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and others.

ASCE Library

Provides access to civil engineering articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, e-books, and standards.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals and includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
CUMINCAD: Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design
This is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 11,000 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD Futures, DSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 8,100 papers are also available, however, to access full texts one needs to be a member of a CAAD association. Guests may search the database but will only see citation information.
NTRL
As one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the new National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public Access) offers fast and easy access to more than 3 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports. Public access does require free registration.
RIBA: British Architectural Library Catalogue
Use the online catalogue to search and locate material from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the RIBA.

Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Many articles are freely available in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Periodicals Research Guide

AA Files by the Architectural Association School of Architecture
Promotes original and engaging writing on architecture. It does this by drawing both on the AA School’s own academic research, lecture programme, exhibitions and events, as well by a rich and eclectic mix of architectural scholarship from all over the world.
APT Bulletin by the Association for Preservation Technology International (APT)
Articles showcase cutting-edge preservation techniques, as well as innovative applications of established restoration technologies.
Architect: The Magazine of the American Institute of Architects by the American Institute of Architects
Delivers in-depth features on industry trends, design, technology, local markets, products, culture, and the business of architecture.
Architectural Design by Axiomatic Editions
Each title of AD is presented as a thematic volume edited by an invited guest-editor, who is an international expert in their field. AD also covers topics as diverse as: architectural history and theory, the environment, interior design, landscape architecture and urban design.
Architectural Digest by Condé Nast
Celebrates the best in global design by showcasing today’s most influential interiors, architecture, talent, tastemakers, and new products
Architectural History by the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain
Double-blind, peer-reviewed journal of international standing, recognised for advancing significant original and interpretive research on buildings, the built environment, architectural theory, and historiography across all places and periods.
Architectural Record by BNP Media
Source for news and information on architecture and design, covering modern and sustainable architecture in addition to a variety of building types in the United States and across the globe.
Architectural Review by EMAP Publishing Limited
Buildings old and new are chosen as prisms through which arguments and broader narratives are constructed. In their fearless storytelling, independent critical voices explore the forces that shape the homes, cities and places we inhabit.
arq: Architectural Research Quarterly by Cambridge University Press
Publishes cutting-edge work covering all aspects of architectural endeavour. Contents include building design, urbanism, history, theory, environmental design, construction, materials, information technology, and practice.
Award: Architecture, Design, Construction by Canada Wide Media Limited
Presents building industry professionals across Canada with well-researched, vital stories and updates on the people, projects and issues driving their industries.
Building by iQ Business Media Inc.
Canada's national newsmagazine for building industry professionals with focus on real estate development and architecture including residential, both single and multi-unit, commercial, industrial, institutional and hospitality.
Building Design by Building Design
Architecture news, comment and opinion from the UK.
Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum by the University of Minnesota Press
Examines the built world--houses and cities, farmsteads and alleys, churches and courthouses, subdivisions and shopping malls--that make up the spaces that most people experience every day. Strongly based on fieldwork and archival research that views buildings as windows into human life and culture, articles are written by historians, preservationists, architects, cultural and urban geographers, cultural anthropologists, and others involved with the documentation, analysis, and interpretation of the built world.
Canadian Architect by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada and the AIA Canada Society
Canadian national review of design and practice documents significant architecture and design from across the country and features articles on current practice, building technology, and social issues affecting architecture.
Clem Labine's Period Homes by Active Interest Media
The comprehensive resource for professionals involved in residential restoration and renovation, as well as the design and construction of new homes built in traditional styles.
Clem Labine's Traditional Building by Active Interest Media
The comprehensive resource for professionals involved in restoring old buildings or designing and constructing new buildings in traditional styles.
Design Issues by MIT Press
The first American academic journal to examine design history, theory, and criticism.
Detail
Devotes every issue to specific topics in construction and building details in architecture. Current international architecture projects are documented with beautiful photographs and comparable drawings at a scale of 1:20.
Dezeen Magazine
Dezeen is one of the world's most popular and influential architecture and design magazines, and the winner of numerous awards for journalism and publishing.
Dimensions by A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan
Dimensions is the annual, student-produced journal of architecture at the University of Michigan. It seeks to contribute to the critical discourse of architectural education by documenting the most compelling work produced by its students, faculty, fellows, and visiting lecturers.
Environment and Behavior by Environmental Design Research Association
Environment and Behavior (EAB) examines relationships between human behavior and the natural and built environment. Diverse research topics include environmental experiences (e.g., restorativeness, place attachment/identity, environmental perception/cognition); environmental outcomes (e.g., pro-environmental behaviors such as recycling; health-supportive environments; design preferences); and processes linking environments and behaviors that support or thwart human well-being.
Environment and Planning B: Planning and Design by Pion
Its goal is the publication of high-quality articles which report leading edge research in the application of formal methods, methods models, and theories to spatial problems which involve the built environment and the spatial structure of cities and regions. The journal also specialises in new approaches to planning and design methods which explore ways of generating and evaluating optimal plans and policies. With recent dramatic developments in computing and networking, the journal has become a forum for major research in the application of computers to planning and design, in particular the use of shape grammars, artificial intelligence, and morphological methods to buildings and towns, the use of multimedia and GIS in urban and regional planning, and the development of ideas concerning the virtual city. These are areas of research that the journal is especially interested in promoting at present but within the general frame work of promoting any new approaches to planning and design which reflect formal methods of inquiry and analysis. The journal also publishes longer length reviews pertaining to topical issues in planning and design, as well as book reviews, comments and letters on articles, together with state-of-the-art reviews of the field.
Environment and Planning D: Society and Space by Pion
Environment and Planning D: Society and Space is an international and interdisciplinary journal that provides a forum for the discussion of the mutually constitutive relation between the social and the spatial. It seeks to be philosophically sophisticated, to be practically relevant, and to concretely theorise a range of contemporary, historical, political, and cultural contexts. Space is broadly conceived: from landscapes of the body to global geographies; from cyberspace to old growth forests; as metaphorical and material; as theoretically nuanced and empirically rich. Interpretations move across theoretical and empirical spectrums, from psychoanalysis to political economy; anthropology to literature; and philosophy to architecture. The journal editors are equally committed to the spatial aspects of political action and the abstractions of social theory. We believe that this commitment is best achieved by keeping a balance between, and placing into, creative tension, economic, political, and cultural analyses, informed by theoretical innovation and underpinned by a range of empirical research.
Environment, Development and Sustainability by Springer
Environment, Development and Sustainability is an international, multidisciplinary journal covering all aspects of the environmental impacts of socio-economic development. Concerned with the complex interactions between development and environment, its purpose is to seek ways and means for achieving sustainability in all human activities aimed at such development. Coverage includes interactions among society, development and environment, and their implications for sustainable development; technical, economic, ethical and philosophical aspects of sustainable development; local, regional and global sustainability and their practical implementation; development and application of indicators of sustainability; development, verification, implementation and monitoring of policies for sustainable development; sustainable use of land, water, energy and biological resources in development; impacts of agriculture and forestry activities on soil and aquatic ecosystems and biodiversity, and much more.
Future Anterior: Journal of Historic Preservation, History, Theory, and Criticism by University of Minnesota Press
Future Anterior approaches historic preservation from a position of critical inquiry, rigorous scholarship, and theoretical analysis. The journal is an important international forum for the critical examination of historic preservation, spurring challenges of its assumptions, goals, methods, and results. As the first journal in American academia devoted to the study and advancement of historic preservation, it provides a much-needed bridge between architecture and history.
Gesta by The University of Chicago Press on behalf of the International Center of Medieval
Gesta presents original research on developments in the study of art and life of the Middle Ages. The journal embraces all facets of artistic production from ca. 300 to ca. 1500 C.E., in Europe, the Mediterranean region, and the Slavic world.
Grey Room by The MIT Press
Grey Room is a scholarly journal devoted to the theorization of modern and contemporary architecture, art, media, and politics. Published quarterly, it is dedicated to the task of promoting and sustaining critical investigation into each of these fields separately and into their mutual interactions.
Harvard Design Magazine by Harvard Graduate School of Design
Provides critical explorations of key contemporary issues and practices related to the built environment and the quality of life connected to it.
HERD: Health Environments Research & Design Journal by SAGE
HERD is the only journal featuring evidence-based articles on the design of health environments and the design-related outcomes associated with safety, clinical results, organizational performance, economics, and the human experience. The commitment to an interdisciplinary design process is reflected in HERD’s interdisciplinary Editorial Board, with representatives from healthcare (including nursing, medicine, and healthcare administration), the design industry (architecture, engineering, interiors, graphics), environmental and behavioral psychology, neurosciences, systems and organizational effectiveness, art, music, and other complementary fields.
Hesperia: The Journal of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens by The American School of Classical Studies at Athens
Hesperia is published quarterly by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. Founded in 1932 and devoted primarily to the timely publication of reports on projects sponsored by the School, Hesperia also welcomes submissions from all scholars working in the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, and literature. The geographic limits are those of the entire Greek world, with no chronological restrictions. Articles presenting primary research, interdisciplinary studies, theoretical discussions, and syntheses of topics and problems are all featured. Studies on the history and practice of archaeology and ethnography in the Mediterranean are also included.
Interior Design by Sandow Media LLC
Offers the latest interior design trends, ideas, contemporary architecture and design news. Each month, the magazine features a variety of outstanding projects, the latest new products across all disciplines, industry news and more.
Journal of Architectural and Planning Research by Locke Science Publishing Company, Inc.
The Journal of Architectural and Planning Research is the major international interdisciplinary resource for professionals and scholars in architecture, design, and planning. Reporting internationally both recent research findings and innovative new practices, JAPR provides a link between theory and practice for researchers and practicing professionals.
Journal of Architectural Engineering by American Society of Civil Engineers
The Journal of Architectural Engineering provides a multidisciplinary forum for dissemination of practice based information on the engineering and technical issues concerning all aspects of building design. Peer-reviewed papers and case studies will address issues and topics related to buildings, such as planning and financing, analysis and design, construction and maintenance, codes applications and interpretations, conversion and renovation, and preservation.
Journal of Green Building by College Publishing
Publishes peer-reviewed research for the sustainable built environment at the building, community, neighborhood and urban scale
Journal of Housing and the Built Environment by Springer
Presents the refereed results of original scientific research, and new developments in policy and practice in the fields of housing, spatial planning, building and urban development.
Journal of Interior Design by the Interior Design Educators Council
Investigates the interior relative to design, human perception, behavior, and experience, at all scales and for all conditions. Scholarship published in the Journal shapes, informs, and defines interior design education, practice, research, criticism, and theory.
Journal of the American Planning Association by the American Planning Association
Publishes practice-relevant scholarly research, analysis, and reviews, bringing insight to the future.
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians by the Society of Architectural Historians
Blind-peer reviewed international journal devoted to all aspects of the history of the built environment and spatial practice, including architecture, landscape architecture, urbanism, and city planning.
Journal of Urban Design by Taylor & Francis
Advances theory, research and practice in urban design, a core factor in planning and architectural education, to improve urban environment quality.
Log by Anyone Corporation
Log is an independent journal on architecture and the contemporary city that presents criticism and commentary in a literary format designed to resist the seductive power of the image in media, while identifying and elaborating the central concerns of architectural thinking and production today. A carefully crafted compendium of essays, interviews, and brief “observations,” Log provides an ongoing international platform for the exchange of ideas, both bearing on and emanating from architecture and the city, among a curious audience of readers, including architects, designers, students, scholars, and artists. Published three times a year, general “open” issues are punctuated by occasional thematic issues on prescient topics. Founded in 2003, Log is a project of the Anyone Corporation, a non-profit organization in New York City devoted to advancing architectural thought and writing.
Metropolis by Metropolis Magazine
Examines contemporary life through design, architecture, interior design, product design, graphic design, crafts, planning, and preservation.
Perspecta by The MIT Press
Perspecta: The Yale Architectural Journal, the oldest student-edited architectural journal in the United States, is internationally respected for its contributions to contemporary architectural discourse with original presentations of new projects as well as historical and theoretical essays. Perspecta's editors solicit articles from distinguished scholars and practitioners from around the world, and then, working with graphic design students from the School of Art, produce the journal.
Places by Design Observer Group
Places is an interdisciplinary journal of contemporary architecture, landscape and urbanism, with a particular focus on the public realm as both physical place and social ideal. We publish essays, peer-reviewed scholarship, observations, reviews, visual portfolios, and occasionally poetry and fiction, with new articles appearing weekly. Whatever the format, we are dedicated to advancing public awareness of the expansive value of design research and practice, with the ultimate goal of promoting sustainable cities and healthy landscapes. Prior to moving online in 2009, Places was a print journal founded in 1983 by faculty at MIT and Berkeley.
Planning by the American Planning Association
Every month, thousands of people — professionals and interested laypeople alike — read Planning to learn how innovative planning programs and techniques are reshaping America's communities.
Preservation by the National Trust for Historic Preservation
Award-winning magazine of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, the organization that works to revitalize our communities and save our beloved historic places.
Residential Architect by Hanley Wood, LLC
Delivers in-depth features on current design trends and product information and news for architects, designers, and design and build firms. Residential Architect is a magazine of the American Institute of Architects.
The Architects' Journal: The Home of British Architecture by EMAP Publishing Limited
The voice of architecture in Britain. We sit at the heart of the debate about British architecture and British cities, and form opinions across the whole construction industry on design-related matters
Town Planning Review by Liverpool University Press
Well-established urban and regional planning journal, providing a principal forum for communication between researchers and students, policy analysts and practitioners.
Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review by the International Association for the Study of Traditional Environments (IASTE)
Acts as a forum for the exchange of ideas and a means to disseminate information and report on research activities.
Urban Design International by Palgrave Macmillan
Urban Design International is a scholarly publication with a strong practitioner emphasis. It is relevant for all of those involved in architectural and planning education and practice. It is relevant for urban designers, architects, planners, surveyors and landscape architects and all professionals concerned with urban development and design.
Winterthur Portfolio by The University of Chicago Press on behalf of the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Inc.
Fosters knowledge of the North American past by publishing articles on material culture and the historical contexts within which artifacts developed.

Advances in Building Energy Research by Taylor & Francis
Provides expert reviews and analyses of the most important developments across the fields of energy efficiency and environmental performance of buildings.
Building and Environment by Elsevier Ltd.
Building and Environment is an international journal that publishes original research papers and review articles related to building science and human interaction with the built environment. The Journal is focused on new knowledge, rigorously verified with measurement and analysis, related to the environmental performance of buildings in different scales, ranging from cities, communities, buildings, to building systems and assemblies.
Building Services Engineering Research and Technology by SAGE
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment. Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field. BSER&T covers the full range of energy and environmental services in buildings, including: heating, ventilation, air conditioning, building, electrical services, building acoustics, water supply and sanitation, and vertical transport.
Construction Global by White Digital Media Group
Seeks to inform, engage and interact with construction executives about key trends, technological advances and software innovation, modern construction techniques, operational excellence and more.
Journal of Green Building by College Publishing
Publishes peer-reviewed research for the sustainable built environment at the building, community, neighborhood and urban scale
Journal of Sustainable Cement-Based Materials by the Guangxi University
Publishes theoretical and applied researches on materials, products, and structures that incorporate cement.
Sustainable Construction by Cygnus Business Media
Sustainable Construction magazine delivers best-practices, products, and resources that contractors can use to balance environmental, social, and economic issues relative to sustainable construction.

Architecture: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!