Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Most subjects are covered.
450 black and white illustrations of photographs of architecture, architectural drawings and plans, floorplans, architectural details. Historic buildings and sites, architectural styles and history of development. Includes bibliography.
A guide that offers tourists, residents, and architecture aficionados alike insights into more than 400 of Washington, D.C.'s, most important landmarks. It includes 45 entries, encompassing the House of Sweden and the U.S. Institute of Peace, classic buildings that epitomize the city.
Examines over 70 of Italy's most important architectural landmarks including Turin's Palace of Labor in northern Italy, the Monreale Cathedral and Cloister in Sicily, and all periods of Italian architecture from the first-century Colosseum in Rome to the Casa Rustica apartments built in Milan in the 1930s.
Organised by building type, this work features over 300 case studies. It includes: a brief introduction to the key design considerations for each building type; plans, sections and elevations for the building examples; references to key technical standards and design guidance; and, a comprehensive bibliography for most building types.
Francis D.K. Ching's architectural bestseller, thoroughly updated Since 1975, Architectural Graphics has been a bestselling classic that has introduced countless students of architecture and design to the fundamentals of graphic communication.
Updated with a new Introduction by the authors and a foreword by Richard Florida, this book is a comprehensive guide book for urban designers, planners, architects, developers, environmentalists, and community leaders that illustrates how existing suburban developments can be redesigned into more urban and more sustainable places.
A comprehensive compendium of architectural drawing types and methods with over 1000 illustrations, now updated throughout. Architectural Drawing reflects the widest range of techniques and styles (both hand drawing and computer generated drawing) by an impressive group of practicing designers.
The Architectural Representation Handbook brings showcase examples of representation into specific design contexts, giving architects, designers, and others a real sense of their variety, subtlety, and usefulness as tools for navigating the full spectrum of architecture.
The revered architectural reference, updated with contemporary examples and interactive 3D models The Interactive Resource Center is an online learning environment where instructors and students can access the tools they need to make efficient use of their time, while reinforcing and assessing their understanding of key concepts for successful understanding of the course. An access card with redemption code for the online Interactive Resource Center is included with all new, print copies or can be purchased separately. (***If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code -ISBN: 9781118986837). The online Interactive Resource Center contains resources tied to the book, such as: Interactive Animations highlighting key concepts Photo Gallery of architectural precedents illustrated in the book Flashcards for focused learning Architecture: Form, Space, and Order, Fourth Edition is the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design, updated with new information on emerging trends and recent developments. This bestselling visual reference helps both students and professionals understand the vocabulary of architectural design by examining how space and form are ordered in the environment. Essential and timeless, the fundamental elements of space and form still present a challenge to those who crave a deeper understanding. Taking a critical look at the evolution of spaces, Architecture distills complex concepts of design into a clear focus that inspires, bringing difficult abstractions to life. The book is illustrated throughout to demonstrate the concepts presented, and show the relationships between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultures. Topics include: Primary elements and the principles of space design Form and space, including light, view, openings, and enclosures Organization of space, and the elements and relationships of circulation Proportion and scale, including proportioning systems and anthropometry
The Handbook of Interior Architecture and Design offers a compelling collection of original essays that seek to examine the shifting role of interior architecture and interior design, and their importance and meaning within the contemporary world.
The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction, now with a 3D digital building model for interactive learning For over three decades, Building Construction Illustrated has offered an outstanding introduction to the principles of building construction. This new edition of the revered classic remains as relevant as ever, providing the latest information in Francis D.K. Ching's signature style. Its rich and comprehensive approach clearly presents all of the basic concepts underlying building construction. New to this edition are digital enhancements delivered as an online companion to the print edition and also embedded in e-book editions. Features include a 3D model showing how building components come together in a final project. llustrated throughout with clear and accurate drawings that present the state of the art in construction processes and materials Updated and revised to include the latest knowledge on sustainability, incorporation of building systems, and use of new materials Contains archetypal drawings that offer clear inspiration for designers and drafters Reflects the 2012 International Building Codes and 2012 LEED system This new edition of Building Construction Illustrated remains as relevant as ever, with the most current knowledge presented in a rich and comprehensive manner that does not disappoint.
This website has been created by the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission's Bureau for Historic Preservation to provide a general background on the architectural types and styles prevalent in our state. This guide provides information about styles with coordinating photos and lists of identifying features to aid in the evaluation, understanding and appreciation of historic buildings.