Architecture: Find Images

A History of Architecture is the first major work of history to include an overview of the architectural achievements of the 20th Century. Banister Fletcher has been the standard one volume architectural history for over 100 years and continues to give a concise and factual account of world architecture from the earliest times. In this twentieth and centenary edition, edited by Dan Cruickshank with three consultant editors and fourteen new contributors, chapters have been recast and expanded and a third of the text is new. There are new chapters on the twentieth-century architecture of the Middle East (including Israel), South-east Asia, Hong Kong, Japan and Korea, the Indian subcontinent, Russia and the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe and Latin America. The book's scope has been widened to include more architecture from non European countries and coverage of pre twentieth century architecture now includes 6 chapters on Islam.
For the first time in Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture the architecture of the20th century is considered as a whole and assessed in a historical perspective. There is more information on vernacular buildings and engineered structures as well as many new plans and sections. This unique reference book places buildings in their social, cultural and historical settings to describe the main patterns of architectural development, from Prehistoric to the International Style. Again in the words of Sir Banister Fletcher, this book shows that 'Architecture ... provides a key to the habits, thoughts and aspirations of the people, and without a knowledge of this art the history of any period lacks that human interest with which it should be invested.

This is a unique reference tool for finding images of approximately 7,000 architectural works reproduced in more than 100 books likely to be available in libraries with architectural collections. The index is international in coverage; includes a variety of architectural, engineering, and planning works; and covers most historical periods and styles. Citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations are provided, and access is enabled by building site, architect, type of work, and name of work indexes. The index is organized into four parts. Part I, the Site Index, is the principal index and lists architectural works alphabetically according to specific location. For each work, the following information is provided, if available: name of work, alternate names, date of work, architect(s), and citation information organized according to exterior view, interior view, plan, section, or elevation. The Architect Index, Part II, lists alphabetically the architects, engineers, planners, and others responsible for works cited in Part I. A typical listing provides the name of the architect, other names by which he or she is known, life dates, and the works listed alphabetically with their sites. The third part organizes the works according to particular type of building or structure. Part IV, the Work Index, lists names and alternate names of works and parts of works, as revealed in the indexed sources. The books indexed for this unique reference work were selected to form a representative survey of the major periods of architectural history. World Architecture Index is a unique reference and research tool that will be welcomed by students and scholars of architecture, art history, civil engineering, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning, and world history.

Twentieth Century Architecture is a fully documented, richly illustrated guide to the great architectural achievements of the last one hundred years. The book chronicles the technological advances, engineering achievements and aesthetic issues that have led to dramatic changes in every branch of architecture. The essential reference work provides photographs, drawing and plans for the significant buildings throughout each decade as well as a useful chronology of buildings and a comprehensive index.