Architecture: Encyclopedias

Now, with all of its five volumes completed, Encyclopedia of Architecture will surely become the standard in the field. Its broad coverage focuses on architectural processes & design, materials, construction methods & management but also encompasses, biographies of leading architects, architectural history, articles on architectural aesthetics, literature & criticism, listings on current laws & regulations, & information on leading firms & schools. Includes 3,000 illustrations & 500 tables. The Encyclopedia has been sponsored by the American Institute of Architects.

A detailed guide to the buildings of all major cultures from ancient Egypt to the present day. Volume 1 is devoted to Europe, from prehistoric times through ancient Greece and Rome, the Middle Ages and Renaissance, Baroque to the industrial civilisation of today. Volume 2 covers India, China, Japan, South-east Asia, Classical Islam, Persia, Seljuk and Ottoman Turkey, Mexico and Peru. An index is included.

More than 3,000 analytical drawings and historic engravings are included in this updated edition as well as 400 photographs in color and over 1,000 in black and white. These extraordinary images provide a systematic guide to the features appropriate for every part of a building, from the major components such as doors, windows, walls, floors, ceilings, and staircases to the small but important embellishments such as moldings and door hardware. At the heart of the book is a chronological treatment of the primary styles and periods of architectural design during the past 500 years. Each chapter begins with an illustrated essay, then looks in turn at individual features, from doors and windows to ironwork and woodwork. The usefulness of this book is further enriched by the inclusion of permanent or semipermanent fixtures such as lighting, kitchen stoves, and floor and wall coverings, as well as strictly architectural details. A useful system of quick reference, employing color-coded tabs keyed to each feature, enables the reader to trace how particular features evolved over time. And at the back of the book, separate chapters dealing with vernacular architecture are followed by a glossary and a fully updated directory of suppliers of authentic materials as well as period and reproduction features. For this new edition, a biographical directory of architects and architectural practices has been added.