Skip to Main Content

Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Mobile Apps

Tips on searching some of our health and medicine databases, including how to narrow your topic, find the exact article, and request articles we don't have access to.

Mobile Apps for Library Resources

Access

McGraw-Hill's Access databases are optimized for mobile use.  If you prefer to use AccessMedicine or AccessPhysiotherapy through an app, you can do so by downloading the app through the App Store or Google Play.  Before you can use the app, you will need to access this resource through a link on the library's website, create a personal account, then use that account information to login using the app on your device.  Access on the app is valid for 90 days after which time you will need to reconnect to our institution's subscription.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

EBSCO MobileEBSCO Mobile

EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide. This free app ensures that users get the most from searching premium EBSCOhost database content, provided courtesy of your library.

To obtain an authorization key to the library's EBSCO databases:

  • Access one of the databases through a library Web page or research guide
  • Click the link at the bottom of the screen to email yourself a 9 month key

Once an authorization key has been requested:

  • Download the app from the App Store
  • View the email on your device, then tap the authentication key in the email (activation link expires within 24 hours)

                                                                                                              

Access My LibraryGale/Cengage

Use the Access My Library® app to access Gale resources.  Once logged in, you can do a search across all of our Gale resources, search by individual database, or browse and search specific reference eBooks.

To use this app:

  • Download the free app from the App Store or Google Play
  • Select Academic as the library type
  • Select Pennsylvania College of Technology from the list of libraries
  • Contact the Reference Desk for the password

                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

UpToDate

Register for an UpToDate mobile app for your iOS, Android or Windows device, remote access from your home or office computer, the Current Updates newsletter and free CME credit accrual when researching a clinical question onsite or remotely.  Access on the app is valid for 90 days after which time you will need to reconnect to our institution's subscription.

To use the mobile app for UpToDate:

  • Access the database through a library Web page or research guide
  • Click the Log In / Register link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and fill out the registration form

Once registration is complete:

  • Download the app from the App Store or Google Play
  • Login using the information you entered on the registration form

                                                                                                              

UpToDate Register for an Account

By registering for an UpToDate account, you can download the mobile app, earn CME and get remote access to UpToDate. The registration process is quick and easy, and you only need to do it once.

UpToDate Mobile App

To research clinical questions on-the-go, download the UpToDate mobile app. Registered users and individual subscribers can install the mobile app on up to two devices.